Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
48 user(s) are online (25 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 48

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +165€

Current balance: 105€
(last updated 02/2021)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 36 users playing Freelancer on 44 servers.
March. 3, 2021

Browsing this Thread:   2 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



Audio Chat through commands
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2011/4/3 17:43
From N/A
Group:
Banned!
Posts: 199
Offline
I was thinking to add souch a command to FLHook, if its possible. What I thought is to create a command that will play an audio message commonly used by NPCs (using a dynamic comm window to display the player's look) to the players in scanner range, or a selected player.
Examples for messages" "I'm scanning your cargo bay for contraband", "Thought you could use some help", "Ahh... This is better be worth it"(my favourite) and so on.
I thought that maby it could be possible to "transfer" this part from the AI to FLHook or something like this.

Thanks for the help,
Poly.

Posted on: 2011/4/13 12:49
Top
Re: Audio Chat through commands
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/11/30 19:02
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 391
Offline
I think I saw something similar used on another server once (but for music instead), but I'm not too keen on the idea. Kinda just kills the idea of RP if you just play a generic audio message every time.

Posted on: 2011/4/13 20:41
Open in new window
Top
Re: Audio Chat through commands
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2011/4/3 17:43
From N/A
Group:
Banned!
Posts: 199
Offline
I think you understood wrong. Its like in online FPS shooter games - its in addition to the chat (when you shout "Go,go,go!" or "Area clear"...)!!
You just set the voice you want with a command (male/female, civilian/pirate...), and use those in addition to chatting. It doesn't hurt the RP at all this way.
Does it sound better?
If it does, maby you can help me to create this, or just guide me how.

Posted on: 2011/4/13 20:59
Top
Re: Audio Chat through commands
Starport Staff
Joined:
2008/10/7 19:56
From England
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Staff
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 635
Offline
Last time I visited HHC, they had a feature similar to this. Perhaps w0dk4 would be kind enough to explain how this was implemented.

Posted on: 2011/4/13 21:17
Top
Re: Audio Chat through commands
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2011/4/3 17:43
From N/A
Group:
Banned!
Posts: 199
Offline
HHC is Hamburg City right? I think I played it once. Well, lets just hope w0dk4 is reading this now...
I'll check for more replies tomorrow. Thanks for the help guys!

Posted on: 2011/4/13 21:22
Top
Re: Audio Chat through commands
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/5/13 8:19
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 202
Offline
Crazy implemented a similar function on DFLS for the Worldcup, too (Vuvuzela >_> ) ^^

Posted on: 2011/4/13 21:24
Top
Re: Audio Chat through commands
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/2/26 20:36
From Germany
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 1789
Offline
It is rather simple actually:

In
HkCbSendChat
you just check the chat message for any codewords that you want sounds for. Then with
pub::Audio::Play
(or something like that), you can play any Freelancer sound on clients (check the latest SDK files).

If you cannot do any FLHook programming though, you're out of luck because I just dont have the time to churn out plugins right now.

Posted on: 2011/4/13 21:53
aka chaosgrid
http://www.freelancerserver.de
https://www.moddb.com/mods/fwtow
Top
Re: Audio Chat through commands
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2011/4/3 17:43
From N/A
Group:
Banned!
Posts: 199
Offline
I'll try to do something. Thanks for the help w0dk4!

Posted on: 2011/4/14 13:24
Top