Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
52 user(s) are online (26 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 52

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: 55€
(last updated 04/2021)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 22 users playing Freelancer on 36 servers.
May. 10, 2021

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

« 1 (2) 3 »


Re: increasing chatlog?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/2/25 6:48
Group:
Registered Users
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 252
Offline
Yep.
Code:
-0.265f in freelancer.exe, 0x1ceee4 = y position of chat box
0.065f in freelancer.exe, 0x1ceee0 = height of chat box
0.46f in freelancer.exe, 0x1ceedc = width of chat box

Posted on: 2009/3/4 3:50
Top
Re: increasing chatlog?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/2/17 19:44
From Virginia
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 369
Offline
Holy smokes M0tah, nice work!

Posted on: 2009/3/4 4:30
http://UnderVerse.us
http://FreelancerCommunity.net
Top
Re: increasing chatlog?
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/15 21:52
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1607
Offline
Eh M0tah..I have the feeling you created a list by yourself, could you share it with us? ;D
(I can't remember those things in the official limit breaking techniques list...)

Posted on: 2009/3/4 8:48
Open in new window
Top
Re: increasing chatlog?
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/2/26 20:36
From Germany
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 1790
Offline
psssst Motah got the FL source

Posted on: 2009/3/4 11:02
aka chaosgrid
http://www.freelancerserver.de
https://www.moddb.com/mods/fwtow
Top
Re: increasing chatlog?

Joined:
2008/2/26 5:52
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 43
Offline
looks like he really got some or he is reverse engineering Freelancer

Posted on: 2009/3/4 17:05
Top
Re: increasing chatlog?
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/2/10 22:00
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 1281
Offline
Purchase a copy of IDA and you can find down stuff like that , it's how I figured out the ALE format...

You can even run the server in debug mode using that program.

Posted on: 2009/3/4 20:25
Galaxy Empire
Youtube Videos
Facebook
Top
Re: increasing chatlog?

Joined:
2008/11/10 10:07
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 45
Offline
But how easy is it to use.. for someone relatively non familiar with understanding this sort of thing?

Posted on: 2009/3/4 21:04
Top
Re: increasing chatlog?
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/15 21:52
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1607
Offline
Do you mean the offsets or IDA? For the first one it is quite simple after you got to know how.
You can check out this tut by fox:
http://www.memes.no/88flak/downloads/ ... -1.1_Offsets_Tutorial.txt

(If you have any questions or if you need help with something feel free to contact me in one of my IMs )

Posted on: 2009/3/4 22:02
Open in new window
Top
Re: increasing chatlog?

Joined:
2008/11/10 10:07
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 45
Offline
IDA, I figured out applying the offsets a while back.

Posted on: 2009/3/4 22:18
Top
Re: increasing chatlog?
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/2/10 22:00
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 1281
Offline
Learning to use IDA will require you to get a reference book on assembly. At first it won't be easy at all but it is like any other language, you will get the feel for it after awhile. One nice thing about it is that it will set up links between each routine and also it will expand and comment certain stuff you would never see with a hex editor.

If you are unable to learn assembly, unfortunately it won't do you a whole lot of good... one other thing, it isn't cheap.

Posted on: 2009/3/5 3:46
Galaxy Empire
Youtube Videos
Facebook
Top
Re: increasing chatlog?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/8/21 4:48
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 454
Offline
I use IDA free (the free version) - is the commercial one much better?

Posted on: 2009/3/5 5:28
Top
Re: increasing chatlog?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/6/20 0:27
From Russia, GMT+4
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 278
Offline
Another thing that i'd say you should know is PE (portable executable) file format and the way system loads these files into memory when executing.

Posted on: 2009/3/5 19:17
Top
Re: increasing chatlog?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/1/21 10:12
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 195
Offline
Hex-rays ;D ;D

Posted on: 2009/3/5 20:48
Top
Re: increasing chatlog?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/2/25 6:48
Group:
Registered Users
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 252
Offline
Quote:

Eh M0tah..I have the feeling you created a list by yourself, could you share it with us? ;D
The only other offsets I have indexed are some for the right HUD panel with the weapon controls as part of a project I was working on to adapt the HUD to widescreen monitors.
Those three I posted before weren't on a list or anything before viper asked if they existed.

Posted on: 2009/3/6 4:53
Top
Re: increasing chatlog?
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/15 21:52
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1607
Offline
Quote:

Yeah, there is.
Code:
0x50 in freelancer.exe, 0x6a440 = maximum number of characters in multiplayer chat window


May I ask whats the maximum? It seems that the value can be higher then 7F, but when I enter to much letters "at once" then it doesnt work, isnt able to send the message then.
I have the feeling that it is catched up in a loop...

However, I reduced to 200/Hex C8, will see if this is working.

Posted on: 2009/3/8 21:19
Open in new window
Top
« 1 (2) 3 »