Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
47 user(s) are online (24 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 47

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +30€

Current balance: -190€
(last updated 04/2017)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 28 users playing Freelancer on 39 servers.
September. 21, 2017

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



Windows 7 64-bit Freeze/Hang
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
3/20 14:31
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 71
Offline
So a few days ago I started having freezes/hangs during playing, mostly in PVP.

The game would lockup, sound would freeze on the sample it was currently playing, after 3-5 seconds screen would go black and then I would be back in action.

Looking at my event viewer I see the culprit is nvlddmkm, a graphics issue as I suspected. It creates a warning only, with no data at the time of the freeze.

So clearly thats a TDR.
A TDR for those who don't know is a graphics driver reset once the system detects something that's jammed up (like a printer) and resets the graphics driver.

Only I get no balloon telling me so, just this cryptic warning.

I am wondering how I can try and diagnose what it is, and what is causing it. I have only recently began to play properly so I guess try previous drivers? Hack it (there is a way to disable it) This probably get a BSOD with fault codes to try and diagnose it.

My main question is has anyone experienced this recently or before?

My drivers are always up to date.

Posted on: 8/14 19:37
Top
Re: Windows 7 64-bit Freeze/Hang
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/7/8 21:15
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 490
Offline
Could be a failing graphics chip or something else of your hardware. If you have nothing else changed it might be it. Also check your temperatures, if they get to hot this might also be it.

Posted on: 8/14 20:46
Top
Re: Windows 7 64-bit Freeze/Hang
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
3/20 14:31
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 71
Offline
It's definitely not heat related, not playing Freelancer, when I can play Overwatch at 1440p on Ultra at 144fps with no issues. But, I will monitor this the next time I have the issue just incase.

It's a GTX 980 Ti. I highly doubt the fans even feel the need to turn on playing it.

Posted on: 8/14 23:00
Top
Re: Windows 7 64-bit Freeze/Hang
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3446
Offline
It can absolutely be heat related. Freelancer by default does not use v-sync and there's no option to toggle it on, so it'll pump as many frames as it possibly can.

Starcraft 2 was notorious for frying GPUs because the main menu wasn't framerate capped, so it'd draw thousands of frames per second.

Posted on: 8/14 23:05
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: Windows 7 64-bit Freeze/Hang
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
3/20 14:31
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 71
Offline
I thought FL had a max framerate cap? To prevent ships glitching around etc.

Posted on: 8/14 23:12
Top
Re: Windows 7 64-bit Freeze/Hang
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3446
Offline
It has one on bases but not in space, or at least it's high enough that mods have had to implement their own caps to prevent multiplayer problems.

Posted on: 8/15 15:07
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: Windows 7 64-bit Freeze/Hang
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
3/20 14:31
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 71
Offline
I was playing some last night, didn't get the hang, but my GPU never went above 60 degrees, the hottest I have had that card is 74 degrees.

Going to keep an eye on frame rate and temps.

But yeah I might cap it via exe hack, but I'm unsure of how to actually adjust that number based on what I saw in the 1.1 offsets thread.

Posted on: 8/15 19:45
Top
Re: Windows 7 64-bit Freeze/Hang
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
3/20 14:31
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 71
Offline
I'm not convinced it's my card. Overwatch at 300 or so fps at ultra pushes my card to 80 degrees, at 94-96% load. It's pushing my card way more than FL is, and no TDRs. I don't know what it is.

Posted on: 8/15 22:12
Top