Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
67 user(s) are online (38 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 67

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +30€

Current balance: -190€
(last updated 04/2017)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 68 users playing Freelancer on 42 servers.
September. 22, 2017

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

(1) 2 »


Got any idea why a ship might look like this?

Joined:
2009/11/29 18:25
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 22
Offline
So, I copied and pasted some ships over from old vesrions of Discovery so that I can play through the SP campaign with them again.

2/3 work great.

Except this one.

It's texture is extremely blurry.

Open in new window

The other two ships I copied from the mod work great and look great.

The moldy crow:

Open in new window

and the Viper:

Open in new window

(I know how to fix the IDS? thing but it's unnecessary considering this is for my sole personal singleplayer use)

So, have any ideas why that top ship's texture would be so blurry yet the other two are perfect?

Posted on: 2016/7/20 19:57
Top
Re: Got any idea why a ship might look like this?
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3446
Offline
Did you actually fly the ship? The previewer is flaky at best.

Posted on: 2016/7/20 20:34
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: Got any idea why a ship might look like this?

Joined:
2009/11/29 18:25
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 22
Offline
Yeah I was hoping that was it too but nope, it still looks like garbage in-flight.

I actually got this exact ship working in SP in freelancer for the same reason I want to now and I know it certainly did not look so bad. I know I also took screenies of the campaign with this ship, which I am currently looking for. I cannot remember what I did if I encountered this issue, im hoping you can jog my memory lol.

Open in new window

Note my cut off UI, I don't think that has anything to do with it considering the other ships look fine (I could never find a 100% working widescreen mod for single player, although discovery had built in magic for widescreen)

Posted on: 2016/7/20 22:10

Edited by Camtheman on 2016/7/20 22:15:52
Edited by Camtheman on 2016/7/20 22:21:38
Top
Re: Got any idea why a ship might look like this?
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3446
Offline
You'll want to look at the MAT file then, the texture must be wrong. If the textures are MIPS, ensure that they load correctly and have the details you want. If they're stored in an MIP0 and MIP1 and so on, make sure MIP0 is the highest resolution texture, halving every step afterwards.

Posted on: 2016/7/20 22:51
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: Got any idea why a ship might look like this?

Joined:
2009/11/29 18:25
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 22
Offline
How exactly do I open a .mat file?

EDIT:

Opened with UTFEditor,

under texture library there are Partisan_UV.tga, partisan_equip, Partisan_grill, Partisan_metal,

all of these have "MIPS" under them.

Posted on: 2016/7/21 1:19

Edited by Camtheman on 2016/7/21 1:25:48
Top
Re: Got any idea why a ship might look like this?
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3446
Offline
If you double-click on the MIPS node, do the textures show fine?

Posted on: 2016/7/21 5:06
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: Got any idea why a ship might look like this?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2012/8/10 14:03
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 139
Offline
can you try to switch to a different screen resolution?

I recently had a player with a similar problem and that fixed it.

Posted on: 2016/7/21 9:50
Top
Re: Got any idea why a ship might look like this?

Joined:
2009/11/29 18:25
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 22
Offline
Err, I clicked on the MIPS and nothing comes up, no window to view anything...

I also tried changing resolution, no change.

Posted on: 2016/7/21 19:22
Top
Re: Got any idea why a ship might look like this?
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3446
Offline
Which UTF editor are you using? Can you post a screenshot?

Also make sure you're actually double-clicking on the node.

Posted on: 2016/7/21 19:30
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: Got any idea why a ship might look like this?

Joined:
2009/11/29 18:25
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 22
Offline
utf_editor 1.0.0.4

Open in new window

Posted on: 2016/7/21 19:35
Top
Re: Got any idea why a ship might look like this?
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3446
Offline
Yeeeeah you want the latest UTF editor, that thing's from like a decade ago. Here's the link:
http://forge.the-starport.net/projects/utfeditor/files

Posted on: 2016/7/21 21:18
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: Got any idea why a ship might look like this?

Joined:
2009/11/29 18:25
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 22
Offline
LMAO oops.

Here we go

Open in new window

I mean they look fine to my eye, but can you see anything wrong here?

If we can't figure out this texture, I have a newer texture for the ship (from 4.85 discovery instead of 4.84)

However, with this comes a new problem (perhaps easier to solve?) when I load that into vanilla the ship does not show up at all. (copying the newer model over as well so I'd know if the model changed. It did not change. I read the patch notes)

I can buy it and fly it but the only things that show are the weapons, the shield module, and the lights. It's like flying an invisible ship.

Posted on: 2016/7/21 23:50
Top
Re: Got any idea why a ship might look like this?
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3446
Offline
I wouldn't be able to tell you exactly what's wrong then. I know that Catalyst AI used to fuck up by continuously selecting the smallest texture for no apparent reason, so it might be that.

Posted on: 2016/7/22 0:19
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: Got any idea why a ship might look like this?

Joined:
2009/11/29 18:25
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 22
Offline
Quote:
I wouldn't be able to tell you exactly what's wrong then. I know that Catalyst AI used to #$%% up by continuously selecting the smallest texture for no apparent reason, so it might be that.


Catalyst AI? What's that?

Posted on: 2016/7/22 1:52
Top
Re: Got any idea why a ship might look like this?
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3446
Offline
It's an AMD "optimization" which has never worked properly. If you have an AMD card you can try disabling it:
http://steamcommunity.com/discussions/forum/11/412448158162861485/

Posted on: 2016/7/22 1:57
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
(1) 2 »