Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
50 user(s) are online (29 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 1
Guests: 49

Furball, more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +30€

Current balance: -190€
(last updated 04/2017)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 29 users playing Freelancer on 39 servers.
August. 23, 2017

Browsing this Thread:   2 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

« 1 (2)


Re: VSync issues in Windows 10

Joined:
2009/12/28 19:59
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 24
Offline
So I tried installing Freelancer on a fresh installed (not upgraded) Win10 64-bit version. Installation and patching went OK, but after starting the game in Fullscreen 1600x1200x32 resolution and using Fraps to determine fps it was the same scene 180+ frames per second.

This PC has Nvidia 740 passive graphics card.

My other 2 PCs are identical and have Core i7-6700K and GTX 980 Ti cards. Both upgraded to Win 10 64-bit.

I think it must have something to do with the DirectPlay feature which is required to run Freelancer.

@Helloween:
My comments about the VSync were not meant in any way to offend people who turn this feature off. I'm used to gaming with VSync ON and therefore I immediately notice screen tearing.

Does anybody have a working full screen mode with VSync ON?

Posted on: 2016/5/17 20:44
Top
Re: VSync issues in Windows 10
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/9/28 21:13
From Wales
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 924
Offline
Dual boot win7/10 for legacy. If you've upgraded a copy of 7 you can still use 7 I think, but it won't receive security updates.

Posted on: 2016/5/20 2:07
Top
Re: VSync issues in Windows 10
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3443
Offline
So I've looked into it and the short answer is that you cannot do V-Sync for DirectX 8.

Posted on: 2016/5/20 2:25
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: VSync issues in Windows 10
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/9/28 21:13
From Wales
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 924
Offline
So will using enb dx9 converter solve the problem?

Posted on: 2016/5/20 13:08
Top
Re: VSync issues in Windows 10

Joined:
2009/12/28 19:59
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 24
Offline
I tried using the D3Dconverter but for some reason Norton Internet Security is deleting the d3d8.dll für WS.Reputation 1 virus all the time.
Where can I download this dll safely?

Posted on: 2016/5/20 17:37
Top
Re: VSync issues in Windows 10
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/2/17 20:45
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 466
Offline
Deinstall Norton instead.

Posted on: 2016/5/20 17:44
How to create .SUR files - Tutorial
Top
Re: VSync issues in Windows 10

Joined:
2009/12/28 19:59
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 24
Offline
epic answer!

Well, how do I know this file is safe?
Serious, where do I find this file?

Posted on: 2016/5/20 17:48
Top
Re: VSync issues in Windows 10
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3443
Offline
Any D3D8 ENB will work with the game, especially if you don't actually put any shaders on it.

Posted on: 2016/5/20 17:49
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: VSync issues in Windows 10

Joined:
2009/12/28 19:59
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 24
Offline
Thank you all!

I whitelisted the d3d8.dll and now I have 60 fps Vsync on.

Amazing. Freelancer is working again!

Posted on: 2016/5/20 18:08
Top
Re: VSync issues in Windows 10
Just popping in
Joined:
2016/6/9 18:51
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 3
Offline
I've not been able to get FL (original game) to work at all on Windows 10, either the 64x or 32x (two different laptops). Can't load the DirectPlay and don't know enough about Windows OR FL to try workarounds. Can anyone who knows something about the Windows 10 32x program explain to me (in simple terms) how I might get this game going? (this is the only reason I am in any way nostalgic for earlier versions of Windows - that I can't play FL)

Posted on: 2016/6/9 20:55
Top
Re: VSync issues in Windows 10

Joined:
2009/12/28 19:59
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 24
Offline
Just install the game via setup from CD or ISO if you have one.
Then patch to 1.1.

Afterwards apply the no-CD patch from this site and you are ready to start Freelancer.

During the first start of FLServer Windows 10 notifies you about a feature upgrade DirectPlay. This feature is needed for Freelancer to start.

I installed Freelancer on 3 machines running Windows 10 Pro 64-bit.

Posted on: 2016/6/12 11:00
Top
Re: VSync issues in Windows 10
Just popping in
Joined:
2016/6/9 18:51
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 3
Offline
Thanks. Installing as Administrator worked like a charm. I installing things in the correct order helped immensely.

Posted on: 2016/6/14 1:40
Top
« 1 (2)