Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
31 user(s) are online (14 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 31

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +30€

Current balance: -190€
(last updated 04/2017)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 57 users playing Freelancer on 39 servers.
September. 20, 2017

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

« 1 (2) 3 »


Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/9/11 15:55
From Somewhere at Moscow
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1666
Offline
Take Chips Story Version mod and Freelancer Mod Manager http://the-starport.net/modules/wfdow ... glefile.php?cid=5&lid=362

Weapons you must do by yourself.

Posted on: 2015/11/15 0:53
Open Sirius Mod
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/21 19:32
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 854
Offline
doesn't adoxa offer an eagle package as a new player in story mode on his site...?
Yeah, he does. Here it is: http://adoxa.altervista.org/freelancer/dl.php?f=eaglemsn.zip



Posted on: 2015/11/15 2:43
Gun control is like fighting drunk driving by making it harder for sober people to buy a car...
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/5/25 23:28
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 203
Offline
Quote:

I can't use Notepad or any text editor because all I get are random symbols - until I save the file using Tinyfish Freelancer Ini Editor.


All FL ini files are encrypted/compressed by default, when you save them via that editor they are decompressed into standard readable form. As such you are likely not using any of the current patches out there as they are pretty much all decompressed.

They fix a lot of bugs too so I would recommend using one.

Posted on: 2015/11/15 8:58
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?

Joined:
2015/10/26 1:55
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 33
Offline
Quote:

robocop wrote:
doesn't adoxa offer an eagle package as a new player in story mode on his site...?
Yeah, he does. Here it is: http://adoxa.altervista.org/freelancer/dl.php?f=eaglemsn.zip



That's not really what I want though. It's hard to explain, but I'll try. Below is what I am trying to accomplish, and I have already been successful with some very minor exceptions:

When I finish the story mode in retail Freelancer, I keep playing until I reach a point where I have done everything that there is to do (I can explain what that means in greater detail if you want).. When I reach that point, I sometimes feel like starting the story mode again and I usually wish that I could start with absolutely everything that I just finished working hard to obtain - and the stuff I have and the ship that I have can be different every time I reach that point where I feel that I've done everything that can be done. I mean, I reach a point where the only thing left to do is to keep making more and more money. How boring! All hidden wrecks are looted, I have all the best weapons, all of the Nomad weapons, I have the best of everything - and I've mapped absolutely every single system and every single base and every single jump hole. So why not start the story mode again?

I achieved exactly what I wanted, but it's not perfectly identical to what I had envisioned. What I am doing presently is, I start the story mode over and I wait until I get to accept Juni's offer. Then I accept her offer, exit the game, and then I edit this first game save so that I have everything that I worked so hard to obtain. Then I load the game up and launch to space to meet King.

What I was hoping for was that I could just click New Game and then not have to worry about inserting all of my money and my ship and its equipment and its cargo later. I was even hoping to see my ship and its equipment in the Equipment Room when meeting Juni in there. I was also hoping to see my ship and its equipment when meeting King out in space, but I learned how to do that recently (except, I haven't actually tried it yet). I still don't know how to change which ship is displayed in the Equipment Room when meeting Juni in there. I don't want my ship with its default loadout either. I want Juni to be offering me my ship with MY stuff on it. hehe

It's not a huge deal though; that's really more just for a bit more realism or something. What I have achieved so far is so good enough for me that I'm almost about to say, "Nah... I think I'll just keep doing it this way. It's incredibly easy." I mean, once the battle begins after meeting King in space, my goal is met 100% anyway: I have my ship and all my stuff and all of my money - I have everything that I previously worked very hard to obtain.

I will keep working on this though. It looks like Sky-Blazer's guide might get me there, if I want to do all that work. My way is very easy though:

First, before starting a new game, I edit "Restart.fl" so that I have all of my money. I am aware that if Restart.fl isn't in the save games folder, then a new one is generated using newplayer.fl in the EXE folder. So, I'm aware that I would have to change that one if Restart.fl didn't exist for some reason.

Then, I edit two files: m01a.ini and loadouts.ini. In m01a.ini, I change "Act_SetShipAndLoadout = ge_fighter, msn_playerloadout" to be "Act_SetShipAndLoadout = ge_fighter6, msn_playerloadout" (so, I simply change ge_fighter over to ge_fighter6). I found that if I don't edit that line, then I won't have my ship, not even immediately after meeting King - when the battle begins. Instead, it will be the Starflier outfitted as best as possible with 3 of my guns.

In loadouts.ini, I change the loadout for "nickname = msn_playerloadout". I don't change "archetype = ge_fighter" to be something like "archetype = 2702011459" for the Eagle. That doesn't work as well. So instead, I use "ge_fighter06". Underneath that, I just copy/paste everything that I have for equipment and cargo (copied from my most recent save, which is almost always just Auto Save because I use bases or jump gates or jump holes to save instead of using the in-game menu).

Editing "msn_playerloadout_faux" in the loadouts.ini file doesn't affect which ship is shown when I meet King, but it DOES affect that ship's loadout. Like, I made both "msn_playerloadout" and "msn_playerloadout_faux" identical including changing "ge_fighter" over to "ge_fighter06", and I could see that the 3 gun mounts had my Nomad Energy Cannons (and whatever else will fit on that ship, like a Countermeasure dropper, mine dropper and I think even a Cruise Disruptor launcher).

Posted on: 2015/11/15 13:44

Edited by TwoCables on 2015/11/15 19:32:10
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2014/5/12 18:49
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 101
Offline
Didn`t you ever want to play the MP part of freelancer ?
Its the bit you skipping over, going back to the start again, shame that the servers are low in players now...

Posted on: 2015/11/15 20:34
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?

Joined:
2015/10/26 1:55
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 33
Offline
Quote:

corpse wrote:
Didn`t you ever want to play the MP part of freelancer ?
Its the bit you skipping over, going back to the start again, shame that the servers are low in players now...

I learned a long time ago that I personally need to avoid MP for any video game. I just don't know how to play well with others. I get too competitive, and I end up taking things very personally and I end up getting too serious. In short, I don't know how to just relax and have fun like everyone else.

I also wouldn't be very good at the RP aspect.

Posted on: 2015/11/15 21:06
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2014/5/12 18:49
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 101
Offline
You sound like a perfect rogue ..
Many servers have more PvE objectives like mining, trading or missions.
Also some mods give you more/other stories to play
http://the-starport.net/freelancer/do ... nglefile.php?cid=9&lid=68

Posted on: 2015/11/15 22:15
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1770
Offline
Quote:
1. How to get my Eagle and its equipment and cargo to be the ship that Juni offers, meaning that it's in the Equipment Room with us. That would be cool.

This is done (I believe) via rtcprop_civ_fighter in DATA\SHIPS\rtc_shiparch.ini (replace starflier with vheavy_fighter). It also uses msn_playerloadout.

Posted on: 2015/11/16 1:25
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?

Joined:
2015/10/26 1:55
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 33
Offline
Quote:

adoxa wrote:
Quote:
1. How to get my Eagle and its equipment and cargo to be the ship that Juni offers, meaning that it's in the Equipment Room with us. That would be cool.

This is done (I believe) via rtcprop_civ_fighter in DATA\SHIPS\rtc_shiparch.ini (replace starflier with vheavy_fighter). It also uses msn_playerloadout.


Oh, so does this mean that I could get it to be the Eagle, but it would have to be its default loadout?

Posted on: 2015/11/20 1:13
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1770
Offline
No, it means carry on as you have been doing, modifying msn_playerloadout to what you have.

Posted on: 2015/11/20 6:26
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?

Joined:
2015/10/26 1:55
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 33
Offline
Quote:

adoxa wrote:
No, it means carry on as you have been doing, modifying msn_playerloadout to what you have.

Oh, loadouts.ini, not m01a.ini. I confused myself. I somehow convinced myself that it uses it from m01a.ini in the mrp_accept nickname. I apologize for that.

Posted on: 2015/11/20 8:20
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?

Joined:
2009/9/3 7:07
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 29
Offline
Yes it can. I had written a program sometime ago that lets me do exactly this.

Any money, ship, weapons, and base.

It also let's you adjust your affinity with any group. allowing you to take missions from their base, or not.

Unfortunately, It will allow the user to start on any base, regardless of whether or not it's playable. Same with ships and weapons.

It also sets trade lane and cruising speeds.

If this is of interest for anyone, just let me know and I will upload it.

For what you want, you simply need to modify your player profile. no inis or dlls.

I can't remember what else this thing does. It's been a while.

Posted on: 2015/11/24 0:18
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?

Joined:
2015/10/26 1:55
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 33
Offline
Now, when you use this to set yourself up with any money, ship and weapons, can you also set yourself up with any cargo as well - including extra weapons and whatnot?

Also, when you set yourself up with anything you want and any ship, does it work in such a way where if you click New Game, you still get the opening movie of Freeport 7, you still get to meet Juni in the bar and you still get to meet her in the Equipment Room? If so, then is your selected ship the ship that Juni offers you in the Equipment Room?

When you fly out to meet King, is it your ship and its weapons?

Or, is it just like Freelancer Discovery? Meaning, no story mode?

Posted on: 2015/11/24 8:26
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?
Quite a regular
Joined:
2014/5/12 18:49
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 101
Offline
That is what we have all been explaining
To add items as cargo
Code:
cargo = ge_s_repair_01, 3

cargo = item, amount
hope this helps

Posted on: 2015/11/24 16:01
Top
Re: Can this be done? Start the story mode with any ship and equipment and money?

Joined:
2015/10/26 1:55
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 33
Offline
I know. I thought that I demonstrated that a few times. lol Regardless, that's not what I was asking in that last post.

Do you see what I was asking now?

Posted on: 2015/11/24 20:54
Top
« 1 (2) 3 »