Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
47 user(s) are online (28 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 47

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +10€

Current balance: -300€
(last updated 11/2017)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 60 users playing Freelancer on 34 servers.
November. 21, 2017

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



"Preparing to-Freelancer, Alpha 1" and other bugs (help!)

Joined:
2015/10/26 1:55
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 33
Offline
I think I'm experiencing a bug and I'd like to know if you're experiencing it too and if it can be fixed. When a hostile NPC would normally say, "Preparing to take on Freelancer, Alpha 1", all I really get is "Preparing to-Freelancer, Alpha 1". All of the other hostile pre-fight lines are fine. It's just this one where "take on" is completely missing and it jumps straight to "Freelancer, Alpha 1". When an NPC is about to fight another NPC though, they have no problem saying "take on".

A couple of other bugs I have are, Battleship Essex (in the Dublin system) is labeled "Armed Forces Station", except for on the map. It's labeled Battleship Essex on the map. When I press F9 on it or click the question mark just to get more information, I don't get anything other than the class, crew and armament - the latter two showing as classified. It's as if I've never even been there even though I've been there dozens of times. I found some YouTube videos of people flying toward Battleship Essex and sure enough, it's labeled Battleship Essex just as I remember.

In Dresden, the NPCs always incorrectly call Border Station Pirna by the name of the Hession base "Vogtland". The base itself always calls itself by the correct name, Border Station Pirna. So, only the NPCs are calling it Vogtland.

Everything else seems to be ok. Are these bugs that I can fix, or should I just reinstall Freelancer? My reason for not just reinstalling Freelancer in the first place is, I don't have the CD. Instead, I have a rather complicated way of installing it. heh At the moment, I don't even remember how I installed it and I'm not going to make an attempt to remember how unless I learn that it's the only way for these bugs to be fixed, the first of which can be a bit distracting at times.

Thank you for looking!

Posted on: 2015/11/2 6:46

Edited by TwoCables on 2015/11/3 20:19:36
Top
Re: "Preparing to-Freelancer, Alpha 1" and other bugs (help!)
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1805
Offline
"Preparing to take on" appears to be a single audio file (gcs_combat_engaging_02+), so that's a weird problem. Essex could perhaps be an issue with a save. No idea about Pirna/Vogtland.

I don't think it will really help, but given your situation, something to try would be installing JFLP - that will update the ini files and text resources. While you're at my site, grab SP from MP or one of my saves, along with Console, then you can enter b Essex and see if that makes a difference.

Posted on: 2015/11/3 13:30
Top
Re: "Preparing to-Freelancer, Alpha 1" and other bugs (help!)

Joined:
2015/10/26 1:55
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 33
Offline
Quote:

adoxa wrote:
"Preparing to take on" appears to be a single audio file (gcs_combat_engaging_02+), so that's a weird problem.

That makes sense since the only time we hear "Preparing to" is when they say "Preparing to take on...". So now I need to figure out why it stops just after "preparing to" and immediately jumps to "Freelancer, Alpha 1".

Quote:

adoxa wrote:
Essex could perhaps be an issue with a save. No idea about Pirna/Vogtland.

I don't think it will really help, but given your situation, something to try would be installing JFLP - that will update the ini files and text resources. While you're at my site, grab SP from MP or one of my saves, along with Console, then you can enter b Essex and see if that makes a difference.

I might give this a try! Should I move any files to a safe place so they're not overwritten just in case I want to revert this back to the way it was before?

Posted on: 2015/11/3 20:26

Edited by TwoCables on 2015/11/3 21:28:32
Edited by TwoCables on 2015/11/3 21:29:23
Top
Re: "Preparing to-Freelancer, Alpha 1" and other bugs (help!)
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1805
Offline
Quote:
Should I move any files to a safe place so they're not overwritten just in case I want to revert this back to the way it was before?


It's a patch to replace the files, so I would say no, but of course it's ultimately up to you (besides, if you need to reinstall anyway...). The one thing it does that people seem to dislike is reducing the jump time, so at the least you may want to preserve DATA\FX\jumpeffect.ini.

Posted on: 2015/11/4 5:29
Top
Re: "Preparing to-Freelancer, Alpha 1" and other bugs (help!)
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2015/1/18 12:56
From The Hague, EU
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 78
Offline
Quote:

TwoCables wrote:

A couple of other bugs I have are, Battleship Essex (in the Dublin system) is labeled "Armed Forces Station", except for on the map. It's labeled Battleship Essex on the map. When I press F9 on it or click the question mark just to get more information, I don't get anything other than the class, crew and armament - the latter two showing as classified. It's as if I've never even been there even though I've been there dozens of times. I found some YouTube videos of people flying toward Battleship Essex and sure enough, it's labeled Battleship Essex just as I remember.


I fixed this bug a while ago. It has something to do with base and dock_with in br05.ini. Open br05.ini in UNIVERSE\SYSTEMS\BR05 folder, look for
Code:
[Object]
nickname = Br05_04

and add
Code:
base = Br05_04_Base

just beneath
Code:
dock_with = Br05_04_Base


EDIT: you need the decompressed version of Br05.ini, if you cannot find it, post here

'NOTHER EDIT: Oh yea, about Pirna/Vogtland, this is vanilla too, has something to do with gcs_refer, but seems to be hardcoded. I never found any attempts to edit these, even the most advanced mods I downloaded didn't change gcs_refer for their new system

Posted on: 2015/11/4 17:01

Edited by Gold_Sear on 2015/11/4 17:09:38
Edited by Gold_Sear on 2015/11/4 17:25:08
There is always something to do.
Top
Re: "Preparing to-Freelancer, Alpha 1" and other bugs (help!)
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1805
Offline
Essex was fixed in Buck Danny's patch, which has been incorporated into JFLP, so that will fix that one.

It does seem that Pirna/Vogtland is a genuine bug, but couldn't track down why, so no fix.

Posted on: 2015/11/5 13:33
Top
Re: "Preparing to-Freelancer, Alpha 1" and other bugs (help!)
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1805
Offline
Occam's razor - after listening to all the pilots (but just Pirna/Vogtland, I'm not that keen!), pilot_f_leg_m01 has them swapped. The fix would require editing DATA\AUDIO\pilot_f_leg_m01.utf and swapping 0x809CF08A with 0x9A5CFD0A. i.e.:

Code:
File: pilot_f_leg_m01.utf
0000D7: "9A5CFD0"       [ "809CF08" ]
000DF2: "809CF08"       [ "9A5CFD0" ]

Posted on: 2015/11/6 3:19
Top
Re: "Preparing to-Freelancer, Alpha 1" and other bugs (help!)

Joined:
2015/10/26 1:55
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 33
Offline
I don't have time to post replies yet, but I just came here to say that I just heard "Preparing to Corsairs, Kappa 10" and "Preparing to Hessians, Omega 8" (and many others now). So, it's not just the ones that are directed at me.

Either I've never noticed this before, or something's wrong.

Posted on: 2015/11/9 2:16
Top
Re: "Preparing to-Freelancer, Alpha 1" and other bugs (help!)
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/2/2 13:57
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Posts: 351
Offline
Could the duration attribute in Audio/voices_space_*.ini for the corresponding [Sound] block be too short? Just a guess, I only have the SDK lying around right now, so I can't really test.

Posted on: 2015/11/12 20:30
Top
Re: "Preparing to-Freelancer, Alpha 1" and other bugs (help!)
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1805
Offline
Occam's razor again.

Code:
# These three pilots have truncated audio files - what should be "Preparing to
# take on" is just "Preparing to".  This replaces them with "I'm taking on"
# (gcs_combat_engaging_02+ -> gcs_combat_engaging_01+).
# Jason Hood, 16 November, 2015.

File: pilot_f_ill_m02.utf
007A38: 54F11C00 80090000 7F090000 7F09 [ 8C121D00 10070000 0C070000 0C07 ]

File: pilot_f_ill_m02a.utf
007A0C: F4A61C00 80090000 7F090000 7F09 [ 2CC81C00 10070000 0C070000 0C07 ]

File: pilot_f_ill_m02b.utf
007A0C: 7C9A1C00 80090000 7F090000 7F09 [ B4BB1C00 10070000 0C070000 0C07 ]

Posted on: 2015/11/16 1:29
Top