Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +30€

Current balance: -190€
(last updated 04/2017)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
32 user(s) are online (19 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 32

more...
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 54 users playing Freelancer on 44 servers.
May. 26, 2017

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



Equipment ID number for the Adv. Champion? [Edit: I found it]

Joined:
2015/10/26 1:55
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 33
Offline
Hi, everyone. I'm new here and this is my first post.

A few years ago, I used Freelancer Save Editor to get the Adv. Champion shield generator installed in the Eagle. To help me do that, I think I used some web page that someone made (which I can't find anymore) to learn what the equipment ID number is for it. I want to do this again, but now I have no way to find out what the Adv. Champion's equipment ID number is. Can you help me? That webpage I remember using had the ID number for absolutely everything.

One idea I had, which I will be trying in a few hours, is to install Freelancer Discovery and then just buy the Adv. Champion and then get its equipment ID that way (open up the game save in Freelancer Save Editor and grab it). Then, uninstall Discovery and then see if the equipment ID that I grabbed works. Don't worry, I have plans to install Discovery much later on.


Edit: I found the information that I was looking for! It's not the same source that I used before, but hey!

http://the-starport.net/freelancer/do ... nglefile.php?cid=2&lid=29

2962746376 = shield01_mark10_hf, Adv. Champion H. F. Shield (Class 10 Graviton)

Posted on: 2015/10/26 2:18

Edited by TwoCables on 2015/10/26 5:37:19
Edited by TwoCables on 2015/10/26 5:37:49
Edited by TwoCables on 2015/10/26 17:53:54
Edited by TwoCables on 2015/10/26 18:12:37
Edited by TwoCables on 2015/10/26 18:13:07
Edited by TwoCables on 2015/10/26 18:13:39
Top
Re: Equipment ID for the Adv. Champion?

Joined:
2015/10/26 1:55
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 33
Offline
I found the information that I was looking for! It's not the same source that I used before, but hey!

http://the-starport.net/freelancer/do ... nglefile.php?cid=2&lid=29

2962746376 = shield01_mark10_hf, Adv. Champion H. F. Shield (Class 10 Graviton)

Posted on: 2015/10/26 4:57
Top
Re: Equipment ID for the Adv. Champion? [Edit: I found it]
Starport Staff
Joined:
2008/10/7 19:56
From England
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Staff
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 622
Offline
Hi, welcome to TSP.

Do you actually need the number? Or just the nickname 'shield01_mark10_hf'? FLStat (http://the-starport.net/modules/newbb ... hp?topic_id=5582&forum=10) will tell you the nicknames.

Posted on: 2015/10/26 13:09
Top
Re: Equipment ID for the Adv. Champion? [Edit: I found it]

Joined:
2015/10/26 1:55
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 33
Offline
Quote:

Alex. wrote:
Hi, welcome to TSP.

Thank you!


Quote:

Alex. wrote:
Do you actually need the number? Or just the nickname 'shield01_mark10_hf'? FLStat (http://the-starport.net/freelancer/fo ... hp?topic_id=5582&forum=10) will tell you the nicknames.

Nah, I found it. I originally said so in just a reply (the post that's directly above yours) with just an edit to this thread's title. Just before typing this reply to you though, I added that reply as an edit to my original post just in case others miss it too.

Posted on: 2015/10/26 17:55
Top
Re: Equipment ID for the Adv. Champion? [Edit: I found it]
Starport Staff
Joined:
2008/10/7 19:56
From England
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Staff
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 622
Offline
Yes, I saw, but FLStat is better than a static list of vanilla(?) data.

Posted on: 2015/10/26 17:59
Top
Re: Equipment ID for the Adv. Champion? [Edit: I found it]

Joined:
2015/10/26 1:55
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 33
Offline
Quote:

Alex. wrote:
Yes, I saw, but FLStat is better than a static list of vanilla(?) data.


No, because like I said, I just needed the ID number. I have no need for the internal nickname. That's why I said that what I found was precisely what I was looking for (which means that I'm done looking). Sure it wasn't the exact same source that I used before (I'm almost 100% sure it was some web page), but the information is exactly what I was looking for and it was extremely easy to find what I was looking for in the downloaded .zip file, so that's all that matters to me.

With what I found, I have everything that I was looking for (and more, actually). All I had to do was open the file named "GAMEDATA_shields.txt" and get the ID number. It was as easy as pressing Ctrl+F, typing "adv. champion h. f." and pressing Enter. Upon doing that, I instantly had what I wanted. With FLStat, I can't even get the program to open because it wants to look in "C:\Program Files", but I have Freelancer installed to "C:\Program Files (x86)". With the .txt file, all I need is Notepad and a quick text search (Ctrl+F).

So it's like I said:

Quote:
I found the information that I was looking for! It's not the same source that I used before, but hey!

http://the-starport.net/freelancer/do ... nglefile.php?cid=2&lid=29

2962746376 = shield01_mark10_hf, Adv. Champion H. F. Shield (Class 10 Graviton)

In other words, what I found cannot be improved upon for my needs.

Posted on: 2015/10/26 19:58
Top
Re: Equipment ID number for the Adv. Champion? [Edit: I found it]
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3419
Offline
Alex gave you a tool that's much more flexible in the long run, and then you retort with a paragraph of how you don't need it and blah blah blah.

I'm not sure that's the best attitude to take to someone giving you tips and explaining why the suggested method may be superior than what you're doing.

Posted on: 2015/10/26 23:06
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: Equipment ID number for the Adv. Champion? [Edit: I found it]

Joined:
2015/10/26 1:55
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 33
Offline
Quote:

FriendlyFire wrote:
Alex gave you a tool that's much more flexible in the long run, and then you retort with a paragraph of how you don't need it and blah blah blah.

I'm not sure that's the best attitude to take to someone giving you tips and explaining why the suggested method may be superior than what you're doing.

First, I already said that I tried it but it doesn't work because it's searching for Freelancer in "C:\Program Files". I have Freelancer installed to "C:\Program Files (x86)'.

Second, the thread title says "Edit: I found it". (I edited the post itself after Alex posted because I didn't want anyone else to waste their time)

Third, in case you missed it: http://the-starport.net/freelancer/fo ... t_id=60864#forumpost60864

If I were a regular member on here and came across a thread like this where the new member had said they answered their own question, then I would have just said, "Nice. I'm glad you found what you were looking for! That's why we love this site! Welcome to TSP!" I was obviously far more than 100% satisfied with what I found because it obviously gave me exactly what I was looking for and then some. So, I didn't see a need for anyone to tell me to try anything else.

I guess too that a part of what bothered me is it seemed he didn't read my original post. I mean, he was like, "Do you actually need the number? Or just the nickname?". I could have been like, "No. As I said in my original post, I just need the number and I just found it." I mean, really... I made it very clear that I found what I was looking for, so why should I keep looking or keep trying other ways to get it?

Posted on: 2015/10/26 23:30

Edited by TwoCables on 2015/10/26 23:35:58
Edited by TwoCables on 2015/10/26 23:36:28
Edited by TwoCables on 2015/10/26 23:37:05
Top
Re: Equipment ID number for the Adv. Champion? [Edit: I found it]
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3419
Offline
Settings -> Freelancer Location...

This isn't the first time someone tried to install FLStat on an x64 machine, let alone a non-standard folder.

Look, I'm glad you found it, but the whole point of pointing you to FLStat was that if there ever is a next time and it just so happens that the item you're looking for is not on your list (say, it's a modded item), FLStat would still give you the answer without any mucking about. It's about teaching a man to fish vs giving a man a fish. Going a step beyond. That's all.

Your post also sounded rather "I know better", which isn't an attitude I'd have expected from someone looking for help.

EDIT: With regards to the "he didn't read my post" bit, here's the rub: "ID number" is meaningless. When people ask for a "number" (whatever the adjective they use), they can mean the hash (which is the actual term for what you were after), the CRC, the infocard ID, or even sometimes something even less obvious (we've seen a lot) like people calling the nickname a number, somehow.

When people don't use the game's accepted terminology, the first step is pretty much always to clarify what exactly they're after, since it varies with every single question.

Posted on: 2015/10/26 23:40
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: Equipment ID number for the Adv. Champion? [Edit: I found it]

Joined:
2015/10/26 1:55
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 33
Offline
He never said that. Instead, he made it sound like it would help me find the nicknames, which is clearly not what I was after. I still tried it because I wanted to see if it could do what I wanted a little easier. When it didn't work, I didn't care because I have precisely what I was trying to get. This is exactly what I was envisioning, except on a web page somewhere and not in a .txt file. It's essentially the same thing though, so I'm all set. I've never needed anything else.

I don't know what you're talking about when you said "Settings > Freelancer Location". Are you using some kind of a launcher or something? I just have the executable pinned to the Taskbar (which I know is just a Windows Shortcut to it). That's what I use. If you're referring to some in-game setting, then I don't have that. In other words, I'm not as stupid as you seem to be implying. I forgive you though. heh

Posted on: 2015/10/26 23:50
Top
Re: Equipment ID number for the Adv. Champion? [Edit: I found it]

Joined:
2015/10/26 1:55
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 33
Offline
Quote:

FriendlyFire wrote:
Settings -> Freelancer Location...

This isn't the first time someone tried to install FLStat on an x64 machine, let alone a non-standard folder.

Look, I'm glad you found it, but the whole point of pointing you to FLStat was that if there ever is a next time and it just so happens that the item you're looking for is not on your list (say, it's a modded item), FLStat would still give you the answer without any mucking about. It's about teaching a man to fish vs giving a man a fish. Going a step beyond. That's all.

Your post also sounded rather "I know better", which isn't an attitude I'd have expected from someone looking for help.

EDIT: With regards to the "he didn't read my post" bit, here's the rub: "ID number" is meaningless. When people ask for a "number" (whatever the adjective they use), they can mean the hash (which is the actual term for what you were after), the CRC, the infocard ID, or even sometimes something even less obvious (we've seen a lot) like people calling the nickname a number, somehow.

When people don't use the game's accepted terminology, the first step is pretty much always to clarify what exactly they're after, since it varies with every single question.

I didn't know that I needed to spend my time boning up on the game's accepted terminology before posting. I figured that asking for the equipment ID number of a shield generator would be more than enough for anyone who's familiar with the inner workings of Freelancer. I mean, what else IS there? Look at it:

2962746376 = shield01_mark10_hf, Adv. Champion H. F. Shield (Class 10 Graviton)

There's only one ID number there, and it's 2962746376. Am I the only one who's ever called it an ID number? What do you want me to call it? A code of some kind? I mean, really. I didn't think that asking an extremely simple question would turn into THIS. Good grief! I had assumed that the people who frequent The Shipyard find this stuff to be child's play! Come on!

Then when you remember that this is in the context of needing it for Freelancer Save Editor, it should have become even more obvious what I was talking about. There's only one number to use there, and again it's 2962746376. After proofreading my original post several times, I felt (and still feel) that it was extremely easy to see what I was talking about. Am I the only one who has ever used Freelancer Save Editor? Am I the only one who has ever edited a game save and worked with the ID numbers or item codes or whatever you want me to call them in this manner? I can't be the first one. I didn't think this would cause any confusion, especially in The Shipyard on here. I mean come on, this is where the modders go. Is it not?

Posted on: 2015/10/27 0:02
Top
Re: Equipment ID number for the Adv. Champion? [Edit: I found it]
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/9/11 15:55
From Somewhere at Moscow
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1664
Offline
Quote:
What do you want me to call it? A code of some kind?


Call it Hashcode

If you building a mod - dig Alex's archive of Digital Brilliance Lancer Solurus site for tools to generate them

P.S. Yes, FLStat is infocard but not hashcode browser

Posted on: 2015/10/27 14:08
Open Sirius Mod
Top