Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -50€
Income (ads): +20€
Donations (last month): +15€

Current balance: -70€
(last updated 05/2014)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Poll
Would you be interested in Star Citizen modding?
Yes. 79% (233)
No, not interested in SC mods/modding. 7% (21)
No, not interested in SC in general. 13% (38)
Total Votes: 292
5 Comments
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Twitter
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
57 user(s) are online (36 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 57

more...
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 124 users playing Freelancer on 64 servers.
July. 31, 2014

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



possible explosion issues
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/13 15:48
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 651
Offline
Right now I am not finally sure, if there are other things involved
(due 2 RL issues I was a bit low on time to test this atm - sry 2 bug),
so I d be glad for any info (especially if someone got that stuff working):

issue #1 :
Cause we got real hugh shields in our mod, I tried to add
a higher ammount of energy_damage to the mines in ..\FX\explosions.ini like
Quote:
[explosion]
nickname = explosion_large_mine1
lifetime = 0.000000
process = none
effect = explosion_large_mine
radius = 100
hull_damage = 25000
;--- energy_damage = 50000

This seemed to cause random server crashes.
At least out commenting the energy_damage solved the problem.

issue #2 :
The 2nd issue seems to be the energy damage done by weapons / torpedo explosions.
This was 1st proofed by a torpedo, which was wanted to do high
hull_damage and only little energy damage like
Quote:
...
[Explosion]
nickname = steltek_torpedo01_explosion
effect = gf_capital_explode_green
lifetime = 0.000000, 0.000000
process = disappear
strength = 100
radius = 348
hull_damage = 222222
energy_damage = -98889
weapon_type = W_ET01
impulse = 22222
critical_hit = 0, 2

[Munition]
nickname = steltek_torpedo01_ammo
weapon_type = W_ET01
explosion_arch = steltek_torpedo01_explosion
hp_type = hp_torpedo
requires_ammo = false
hit_pts = 200
one_shot_sound = fire_no_cruise_disruptor
detonation_dist = 52.25
lifetime = 9.000000
Motor = steltek_torpedo01_motor
force_gun_ori = false
const_effect = wts_engine15_proj
seeker = LOCK
time_to_lock = 0
seeker_range = 4000
seeker_fov_deg = 125
max_angular_velocity = 2.220000
DA_archetype = equipment\models\weapons\li_rad_missile.3db
material_library = equipment\models\li_equip.mat
mass = 1
volume = 0.100000
...

After removing the negative energy_damage setting, it worked ok.
Right now it seems, that other torpedoes with [explosion]
and positive energy_damage also crash the server randomly
(maybe once a 50 or 100 torpedoes).

After a few test I got the impression, the crash occurs mostly,
when the target dies (sometimes + randomly).

My other suspect was the fuses - but I d assume,
those should cause a crash every time, they are running.
And it is NOT the explosion FX.


Any ideas (besides that a [explosion] can't have energy_damage?
If it should be in anyway related to the radius of the explosion,
please also give my your safe limits.


Posted on: 2012/11/23 14:30

Edited by F!R on 2012/11/23 14:35:45
Open in new window
Top
Re: possible explosion issues
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/3/11 16:11
From Belarus, Minsk
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 370
Offline
Quote:

F!R wrote:

My other suspect was the fuses - but I d assume,
those should cause a crash every time, they are running.


Try check your fuses, especially collision_groups related, 'cos IF you have some random thingy in fuses the crash may happen not always - that's what came first to my mind.

Posted on: 2012/11/23 20:07
Top
Re: possible explosion issues
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/13 15:48
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 651
Offline
A few 1000 torpedoes later:

- It is not related to effects or fuses
- It is not related to the 0x0C->0x00 in server.dll, 0x960C hack

- It seems to be save, if there is no [energy_damage]

- it might be related to the shield_link (ie missing shield_link)
- it might be safe with smaller detonation_dist

After all I had the impression, the server crash happens,
just before the torpedo hits (what pointed to the detonation_dist imho)


Posted on: 2012/11/24 17:48
Open in new window
Top
Re: possible explosion issues
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/13 15:48
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 651
Offline
Some more torpedoes l8r:

It seems to be save, if the weapon explosions have no
a) negative energy_damage
b) weapon_type



How about a plugin or a hack to make that possible
and maybe also energy_damage @ the solar mines?

Posted on: 2012/12/1 8:24
Open in new window
Top
Re: possible explosion issues
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/10/5 19:37
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 14
Offline
thats one thing ive noticed no ones done work on energy or shields so wee have no control on energy and limited on shields
full control on hull though eg
pub:paceObj:rainShields <-- limited control
pub:paceObj:etRelativeHealth <-- full control

so not possible with a hook yet
i did make a plugin ages ago that over rides wep damage and drops the shield or if you want just leaves the shield and destroys the hull
that was just using the above setings

Posted on: 2012/12/1 17:21
Top
Re: possible explosion issues
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/3/11 16:11
From Belarus, Minsk
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 370
Offline
So is there a way to make hull damaged when the explosion delivers more damage than shield capacity??

Posted on: 2012/12/1 18:21
Top
Re: possible explosion issues
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/10/5 19:37
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 14
Offline
you can buypass the shields alltoghther and directly damage the hull if thats what you mean

here the test plugin i made it was never released
http://sourceforge.net/projects/kosac ... 2.0.0_Plugin.zip/download

Posted on: 2012/12/1 19:22

Edited by kosacid on 2012/12/1 19:43:57
Top
Re: possible explosion issues
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/3/11 16:11
From Belarus, Minsk
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 370
Offline
No. The idea is to override FL phenomena that the shield can absorb ANY amount of damage in one shot and the hull will not be damaged.

Posted on: 2012/12/1 19:30
Top
Re: possible explosion issues
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/10/5 19:37
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 14
Offline
that woukd mean control of the shield what wee dont have yet

Posted on: 2012/12/1 19:45
Top
Re: possible explosion issues
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/13 15:48
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 651
Offline
Quote:

kosacid wrote:
you can buypass the shields alltoghther and directly damage the hull if thats what you mean

here the test plugin i made it was never released
http://sourceforge.net/projects/kosac ... 2.0.0_Plugin.zip/download


This looks very promising, so it will allow a completely
new series of weapons.

Posted on: 2012/12/2 9:28
Open in new window
Top
Re: possible explosion issues
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/9/11 15:55
From Russia
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1478
Offline
Fully functional Repair Turret at first

Posted on: 2012/12/3 11:06
Discovery of Discovery | Open Sirius
Top
Re: possible explosion issues
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/10/5 19:37
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 14
Offline
with a slight alter of the code you can use it to heal Helloween

Posted on: 2012/12/3 13:12
Top
Re: possible explosion issues
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/9/11 15:55
From Russia
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1478
Offline
Quote:

Vital wrote:
So is there a way to make hull damaged when the explosion delivers more damage than shield capacity??


I've noticed at vanilla capital NPCs that rapid fire broke the hull faster than shield, but maybe by killing subtargets :/

Posted on: 2012/12/3 16:37
Discovery of Discovery | Open Sirius
Top
Re: possible explosion issues
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/3/11 16:11
From Belarus, Minsk
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 370
Offline
Talking about the fire here...
If a gun has a refire rate with a floating number(say, 0.333333333333333333333333333...), it will have some delay in refiring, about 10 percent. So you'll have to shoot 10 percent longer to kill your target. What is chaingun plugin BTW??

Posted on: 2012/12/4 5:41

Edited by Vital on 2012/12/4 19:35:09
Top
Re: possible explosion issues
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/13 15:48
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 651
Offline
Better a plugin, which will disable equipment parts for a certain percentage or/and certain time.

Like
- reduce speed about 25%
- disable thruster for 10 seconds
- disable cloak / uncloak ship
- reduce power output 10% for 10 seconds
- ....

Posted on: 2012/12/4 11:29
Open in new window
Top