Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -50€
Income (ads): +20€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: -100€
(last updated 08/2014)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Poll
Would you be interested in Star Citizen modding?
Yes. 79% (233)
No, not interested in SC mods/modding. 7% (21)
No, not interested in SC in general. 13% (38)
Total Votes: 292
5 Comments
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Twitter
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
44 user(s) are online (32 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 2
Guests: 42

SWAT_OP-R8R, DeathKiller, more...
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 70 users playing Freelancer on 60 servers.
August. 29, 2014

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



Player View DIstance

Joined:
2012/9/21 4:48
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 48
Offline
I've been replaying vanilla Freelancer recently, and I noticed that I can't see anything very far away. I'm working on a mod right now and I want the player to be able to see things from across a system. Even if it just looks like a speck, I want the player to be able to see it. Just wanted to know how to change this. Thx in advance.

Posted on: 2012/11/11 17:22
Top
Re: Player View DIstance
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2010/8/2 0:04
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Posts: 451
Offline

Posted on: 2012/11/11 18:08
Of all things that I lost - brain I miss most
Top
Re: Player View DIstance
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/7/16 12:33
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 203
Offline
To set the distance an object becomes visible at you need to change the LOD value, for objects like bases, trade lanes etc this is in DATA/SOLAR/solararch.ini.

The example below is for a small asteroid base like Alcatraz the range when it becomes visible/selectable is 7000 m for it to be visible across a system you might need to change this to 150000 - 200000 depending on system size.

Tekagi's base in Tohoku is set at

LODranges = 0, 7000, 25000, 150000

so it can be seen right across the system.

[Solar]
nickname = miningbase_small_ice
ids_name = 1
ids_info = 1
type = STATION
DA_archetype = solar\dockable\miningbase_small_ice.cmp
material_library = solar\asteroid_dock.mat
material_library = solar\ast_ice.mat
LODranges = 0, 7000
mass = 100000000
open_sound = depot_open_sound
close_sound = depot_close_sound
docking_sphere = moor_medium, HpDockMountD, 50.000000
docking_sphere = berth, HpDockMountA, 2.500000, Sc_open dockA
docking_sphere = berth, HpDockMountB, 2.500000, Sc_open dockB
docking_sphere = moor_medium, HpDockMountC, 50.000000
docking_camera = 0
solar_radius = 500
shape_name = NNM_SM_DEPOT
hit_pts = 999999961690316250000000000000000000.000000
fuse = miningbase_small_ice_burning_fuse, 0, 0

One thing to consider is the impact on performance, a quote from sumanuti's link so be careful what you wish for

"Ah this has been a great one! Funny turning that one up, really brings even an overclocked i5-2500K to it's knees (although it seems to only use a single thread it seems). Only thing left now are the tradelanes. Anyone got any ideas for that? Thanks for the step by step guide btw."

Posted on: 2012/11/11 18:13

Edited by CK256 on 2012/11/11 18:20:18
Top
Re: Player View DIstance

Joined:
2012/9/21 4:48
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 48
Offline
I never even thought about performance impact. I'll have to take that to mind when I start changing stuff around. Either way, thx for the help.

Posted on: 2012/11/12 15:42
Top