Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -50€
Income (ads): +20€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: -100€
(last updated 08/2014)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Poll
Would you be interested in Star Citizen modding?
Yes. 79% (233)
No, not interested in SC mods/modding. 7% (21)
No, not interested in SC in general. 13% (38)
Total Votes: 292
6 Comments
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Twitter
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
45 user(s) are online (28 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 45

more...
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 121 users playing Freelancer on 65 servers.
October. 20, 2014

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post



No NPC's in the Bar- Fixed
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/4/21 15:23
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 11
Offline
I'm a bit rusty on my modding and I've forgotten what the cause for it is. The npc's I am using are copies off of other bases in the game with the identities changed. I am sorry for the stupid question but my searching failed to find any topics with the solution specified.

"[MBase]
nickname = BW11_01_Base
local_faction = fc_h_grp
diff = 9
msg_id_prefix = gcs_refer_base_BW11_01_Base

[MVendor]
num_offers = 6, 10

[BaseFaction]
faction = fc_h_grp
weight = 85
mission_type = DestroyMission, 5.4782, 53.365, 100
npc = bw1101_hogosha_001_m
npc = bw1101_hogosha_002_m
npc = bw1101_hogosha_003_m

[BaseFaction]
faction = fc_c_grp
weight = 15
mission_type = DestroyMission, 5.4782, 53.365, 100
npc = bw1101_corsairs_001_m

[GF_NPC]
nickname = bw1101_corsairs_001_m
body = pl_male1_journeyman_body
head = pi_pirate1_head
lefthand = benchmark_male_hand_left
righthand = benchmark_male_hand_right
individual_name = 221005
affiliation = fc_c_grp
voice = rvp140
misn = DestroyMission, 5.4782, 53.365
room = bar



[GF_NPC]
nickname = bw1101_fix_bartender
body = pi_pirate3_body
head = ku_bartender_head
lefthand = benchmark_male_hand_left
righthand = benchmark_male_hand_right
individual_name = 244831
affiliation = fc_h_grp
voice = rvp101
bribe = co_shi_grp, 10000, 16100
bribe = fc_fa_grp, 10000, 16100
bribe = fc_h_grp, 10000, 16101


[GF_NPC]
nickname = bw1101_fix_trader
body = pi_pirate3_body
head = ku_captain_head
lefthand = benchmark_male_hand_left
righthand = benchmark_male_hand_right
individual_name = 244832
affiliation = fc_h_grp
voice = rvp126

[GF_NPC]
nickname = bw1101_fix_weaponsdealer
body = pi_pirate3_body
head = pl_male5_head
lefthand = benchmark_male_hand_left
righthand = benchmark_male_hand_right
individual_name = 244833
affiliation = fc_h_grp
voice = rvp106

[GF_NPC]
nickname = bw1101_hogosha_001_m
body = pi_pirate3_body
head = sh_male4_head
lefthand = benchmark_male_hand_left
righthand = benchmark_male_hand_right
individual_name = 220496
affiliation = fc_h_grp
voice = rvp101
misn = DestroyMission, 5.4782, 53.365
room = bar


[GF_NPC]
nickname = bw1101_hogosha_002_m
body = pi_pirate3_body
head = sc_scientist2_head
lefthand = benchmark_male_hand_left
righthand = benchmark_male_hand_right
individual_name = 220497
affiliation = fc_h_grp
voice = rvp121
misn = DestroyMission, 5.4782, 53.365
room = bar
accessory = prop_shades_03

[GF_NPC]
nickname = bw1101_hogosha_003_m
body = pi_pirate3_body
head = pl_male8_head
lefthand = benchmark_male_hand_left
righthand = benchmark_male_hand_right
individual_name = 220498
affiliation = fc_h_grp
voice = rvp121
misn = DestroyMission, 5.4782, 53.365
room = bar



[GF_NPC]
nickname = BW1101_fix_ship
body = pi_pirate3_body
head = ku_bartender_head
lefthand = benchmark_male_hand_left
righthand = benchmark_male_hand_right
individual_name = 244831
affiliation = fc_h_grp
voice = rvp101



[MRoom]
nickname = bar
character_density = 5
fixture = BW1101_fix_bartender, Zs/NPC/Bartender/01/A/Stand, scripts\vendors\li_bartender_fidget.thn, bartender

[MRoom]
nickname = trader
character_density = 2
fixture = BW1101_fix_trader, Zs/NPC/Trader/01/A/Stand, scripts\vendors\li_commtrader_fidget.thn, trader

[MRoom]
nickname = ShipDealer
character_density = 2
fixture = BW1101_fix_ship, Zs/NPC/Shipdealer/01/A/Stand, scripts\vendors\li_shipdealer_fidget.thn, ShipDealer

[MRoom]
nickname = Equipment
character_density = 2
fixture = BW1101_fix_weaponsdealer, Zs/NPC/Equipment/01/A/Stand, scripts\vendors\li_equipdealer_fidget.thn, Equipment

"

Thank you for your time

Posted on: 2012/5/8 4:43

Edited by Chessalavakia on 2012/5/8 15:51:55
Top
Re: No NPC's in the Bar
Quite a regular
Joined:
2008/6/11 21:00
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 138
Offline
Can't see too much wrong with this code except for the mission weighting. Try:

[BaseFaction]
faction = fc_h_grp
weight = 85
mission_type = DestroyMission, 5.4782, 53.365, 85
npc = bw1101_hogosha_001_m
npc = bw1101_hogosha_002_m
npc = bw1101_hogosha_003_m

[BaseFaction]
faction = fc_c_grp
weight = 15
offers_missions = true
mission_type = DestroyMission, 5.4782, 53.365, 15
npc = bw1101_corsairs_001_m


For neatness I usely like to put all my NPC entries before the base bar keeper and traders, but that shouldn't have an effect.

Good luck, let us know how u get on.

Rik

Posted on: 2012/5/8 7:15

Edited by rik_starkiller on 2012/5/8 9:39:38
Top
Re: No NPC's in the Bar
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/4/21 15:23
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 11
Offline
Changed the mission weights to proper values and no people in the bar. I also neatened the code to ensure the order did not matter and no change.

Edit:

Did a little more digging on the Lancers Reactor Archive and found out about some universe.ini issues. I swapped from using the FLE produced ini to manually scripted and it's working now. APparently, I had some garbage lines mixed in Thanks for the help


Posted on: 2012/5/8 15:02

Edited by Chessalavakia on 2012/5/8 15:50:19
Top
Re: No NPC's in the Bar
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/10/28 19:47
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 16
Offline
I have the exact same problem ( and I've found several posts on the subject but none with the definitive fix. Anyone know the exact cause?

[MBase]
nickname = IW07_02_Base
local_faction = co_hsp_grp
diff = 1
msg_id_prefix = gcs_refer_base_IW07_02_Base

[MVendor]
num_offers = 2, 4

[BaseFaction]
faction = co_hsp_grp
weight = 100
npc = iw0702_001_m
npc = iw0702_002_m
npc = iw0702_003_m

[GF_NPC]
nickname = iw0702_001_m
body = br_shipdealer_body
head = li_captain_head
lefthand = benchmark_male_hand_left
righthand = benchmark_male_hand_right
individual_name = 458873
affiliation = co_hsp_grp
voice = rvp131
room = bar
bribe = co_hsp_grp, 10000, 16101

[GF_NPC]
nickname = iw0702_002_m
body = br_shipdealer_body
head = rh_captain_head
lefthand = benchmark_male_hand_left
righthand = benchmark_male_hand_right
individual_name = 458874
affiliation = co_hsp_grp
voice = rvp101
room = bar
bribe = co_hsp_grp, 10000, 16101

[GF_NPC]
nickname = iw0702_003_m
body = br_shipdealer_body
head = rh_hassler_head
lefthand = benchmark_male_hand_left
righthand = benchmark_male_hand_right
individual_name = 458875
affiliation = co_hsp_grp
voice = rvp101
room = bar
bribe = co_hsp_grp, 10000, 16101

[GF_NPC]
nickname = iw0702_fix_bartender
base_appr = robot_body_c
individual_name = 458856
affiliation = co_hsp_grp
voice = rvp003
bribe = co_hsp_grp, 10000, 16100
bribe = co_rs_grp, 10000, 16100

[GF_NPC]
nickname = iw0702_fix_trader
base_appr = robot_body_a
individual_name = 458861
affiliation = co_hsp_grp
voice = rvp003

[GF_NPC]
nickname = iw0702_fix_weaponsdealer
base_appr = robot_body_e
individual_name = 458868
affiliation = co_hsp_grp
voice = rvp003

[MRoom]
nickname = bar
character_density = 3
fixture = iw0702_fix_bartender, Zs/NPC/Bartender/01/A/Stand, scripts\vendors\li_host_fidget.thn, bartender

[MRoom]
nickname = Deck
character_density = 2
fixture = iw0702_fix_trader, Zs/NPC/Trader/01/A/Stand, scripts\vendors\li_commtrader_fidget.thn, trader
fixture = iw0702_fix_weaponsdealer, Zs/NPC/Equipment/01/A/Stand, scripts\vendors\li_equipdealer_fidget.thn, Equipment

The base faction matches that in the universe.ini file. Properly stumped again on this one heh

Posted on: 2013/1/5 19:12
Top
Re: No NPC's in the Bar- Fixed
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/21 19:32
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 713
Offline
wonder what would happen if you remarked out the lines int eh [mvendor] group. Perhaps the fact that none of your NPCs offer missions might (probably not) have something to do with it. Worth a shot though. I don't see anything else. Your base NPCs are showing up? (bartender, equip dealer, commod dealer, etc.)

Posted on: 2013/1/7 2:15
Top
Re: No NPC's in the Bar- Fixed
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/10/28 19:47
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 16
Offline
Tried it, no joy. Just been round checking all the bases I've added with FLE 2.0.6.23 and none of them are allowing the NPCs to appear, other than the bartender and dealers!
The one base I added manually in NY is showing its NPCs, a copy/paste of Rochester Base with the names of the characters, commodity prices, ships etc. changed.
What does FL look at before placing NPCs in the bars? Could this be missing from somewhere and if so where do I look?

Posted on: 2013/1/7 17:04
Top
Re: No NPC's in the Bar- Fixed
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/21 19:32
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 713
Offline
You need the NPC faction defined but since you're using a vanilla NPC you should be ok there.
The faction and representatives of that faction need to be defined in mbases and that's where you're seeing your problem.

You have your density in the bar set to 3 so that would be the bartender plus two more. You SHOULD be seeing them in the bar.
The deck has a density of two and you have two NPCs there already, the equipment dealer and the commodities dealer.
You should be fine there as well.

Try making the diff for the base more comparable to the bases in Iw06, perhaps make diff = 9
That's the only thing that's catching my eye here.

In faction_prop.ini the cryers have the following 'costumes' defined:
space_costume = li_captain_head, br_shipdealer_body, comm_ge_generic2
space_costume = li_rockford_head, br_shipdealer_body, comm_li_hatcher
space_costume = li_sales_head_hat, br_shipdealer_body, comm_ge_generic2
space_costume = ge_male1_head, br_shipdealer_body, comm_li_hatcher
space_costume = pl_male2_head, br_shipdealer_body, comm_ge_generic2
space_costume = sc_scientist2_head_hat, br_shipdealer_body, comm_li_hatcher

NPCs 2 and 3 do not have a matching costume defined in mbases.ini although NPC 1 does. One would think that if that were a problem, then you'd at least see NPC 1 showing up. I think those costumes are for the NPCs you run into in space, not necessarily the ones on a base but you could at least rule that out by matching the costumes in your mbases file to these.

I wish I could give you a definitive answer, but my understanding of the inner workings of FL are limited at best.


Posted on: 2013/1/7 22:11
Top
Re: No NPC's in the Bar- Fixed
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/10/28 19:47
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 16
Offline
Still no joy. I found a post on the subject saying their fix was found in universe.ini but I've been right through that and seen nothing untoward.
My next guess is to use FLE to overwrite all my bases' characters with copies of similar vanilla bases to see if one of them is causing the problem.
If that fails I'll remove the iw07 system completely from my mod and redo it from scratch.
Cheers for the pointers, I'll let you know if I sort it or if I smash my FL disc to pieces!

Posted on: 2013/1/9 17:10
Top
Re: No NPC's in the Bar- Fixed
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/21 19:32
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 713
Offline
Are you using the correct BGCS_base_run_by entry?
Yours should be BGCS_base_run_by = W02bF13

That's the only line in the base entry in universe.ini that might make a difference. You should also make sure the strid_name entry is specific to your base. You should use the same entry that you use for the ids_name entry in the system ini.




Posted on: 2013/1/9 18:30
Top
Re: No NPC's in the Bar- Fixed
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/10/28 19:47
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 16
Offline
Dear robocop,

I am clearly a muppet hehe! I have found the fault. I started by removing my four added systems completely to a seperate folder, leaving me with vanilla + two added bases. The second of these bases was not showing its NPCs but the first was. Now, after hours of trying this, that and the other I thought I'd take a look at the first base. Although my first base was working correctly, there was an error in the coding. With this corrected my second base is fixed and I've re-added my four systems. I've not checked all bases yet, but so far four of them are working correctly.
Just goes to show that even if something is working as you expect, its incorrect coding can have torturous effects on other things that are coded correctly. Thanks again for the input, it certainly helped me rule things out.

Bert.

Posted on: 2013/1/13 20:27
Top
Re: No NPC's in the Bar- Fixed
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/21 19:32
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 713
Offline
So, what did you do incorrectly on the first base that still worked for that base but caused all of the others to fail?

Posted on: 2013/1/14 11:17
Top
Re: No NPC's in the Bar- Fixed
Just popping in
Joined:
2012/10/28 19:47
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 16
Offline
I think it was the nickname. Without using FLE I'd placed an asteroid field around NY's sun and a base in it which was a copy of the Junkers' Rochester base with some changes to commodities, equipment and a different ship. With this all seemingly working correctly I put those modifications into a folder and started using FLE to continue the mod, adding 4 systems with several bases, planets and fields. Then set about getting the Starblazer to work, getting the LSF able to fly ships and tweeking some items' stats like getting slightly more speed from an advanced thruster.
What I had done though was copy the mbase entry for Rochester to my new li01_16 base, remembered to change the ids_names for everyone but forgot to change the li0113 bit to li0116 in the nickname.
Anyway, after finding this, I used FLE to change the properties of the base and copied the original NPCs over from Rochester, knowing FLE would change the nickname to suit and then changed the ids_name number to my own. Job done.
Such a small thing to give such a large headache!

Posted on: 2013/1/14 16:33
Top