Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -50€
Income (ads): +20€
Donations (last month): +0€

Current balance: -100€
(last updated 08/2014)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Poll
Would you be interested in Star Citizen modding?
Yes. 79% (233)
No, not interested in SC mods/modding. 7% (21)
No, not interested in SC in general. 13% (38)
Total Votes: 292
5 Comments
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Twitter
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
42 user(s) are online (21 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 1
Guests: 41

Sizer, more...
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 50 users playing Freelancer on 61 servers.
September. 2, 2014

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

(1) 2 »


Problems with mod manager in Windows 7 64
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/6/23 22:25
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 4
Offline
Ok. Came back to the game again after a few years. This time with a new computer (woot woot). I have windows 7 64bit. Now everything seems to install just fine and run just fine as far as the game goes. The Mod Manager is a different story. It seems to install ok. I turn on Advanced beam mod, invulnerable shield mod, and speed mod. When I go back into the game; all my saved games are gone. Ok. So I leave the game and go back into the mod manager. It will let me restore backups, but it won't turn off the mods individually. Some kind of error message comes up. As far as gameplay goes, it seems ok but the advanced beam mod is all screwy. It truly does replace the justice MkI with advanced beam. Its the same $500 dollars; but you can't buy any more because it does list it as advanced beam and class 10; so you have to keep that star tracker you get from the very beginning or lose the beam weapons. I like playing with the mods on. I know it takes some of the fun out of the game, but I played it forever when it came out with no mods and want to help with the tedium to get back to where I was. Any help out there? Tips?

Posted on: 2011/7/15 19:44
Top
Re: Problems with mod manager in Windows 7 64
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/4 21:00
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 554
Offline
Quote:

13ronin wrote:
Ok. Came back to the game again after a few years. This time with a new computer (woot woot). I have windows 7 64bit. Now everything seems to install just fine and run just fine as far as the game goes. The Mod Manager is a different story. It seems to install ok. I turn on Advanced beam mod, invulnerable shield mod, and speed mod. When I go back into the game; all my saved games are gone. Ok. So I leave the game and go back into the mod manager. It will let me restore backups, but it won't turn off the mods individually. Some kind of error message comes up. As far as gameplay goes, it seems ok but the advanced beam mod is all screwy. It truly does replace the justice MkI with advanced beam. Its the same $500 dollars; but you can't buy any more because it does list it as advanced beam and class 10; so you have to keep that star tracker you get from the very beginning or lose the beam weapons. I like playing with the mods on. I know it takes some of the fun out of the game, but I played it forever when it came out with no mods and want to help with the tedium to get back to where I was. Any help out there? Tips?


The save games got moved by Freelancer Mod Manager. You can disable that functionality... but it may not be wise to do so - up to you

Restoring back-ups only means Freelancer files themselves, not save games. You can manually copy/paste your save games into the base folder for save games (no idea where these are located, it's soo long ago ).

As for the weapon class, you may be able to look in the script file for the beam mod and alter the weapon class declaration there

Specifically instead the xml file find this bit:

Quote:
[Gun]
nickname = li_gun01_mark01
ids_name = 0 ;GENERATESTRRES(advbeamname)
ids_info = 0 ;GENERATEXMLRES(advbeaminfo)
DA_archetype = equipment\models\weapons\li_laser_beam.cmp
material_library = equipment\models\li_equip.mat
HP_child = HPConnect
hit_pts = 750
explosion_resistance = 1.000000
debris_type = debris_normal
parent_impulse = 20
child_impulse = 80
volume = 0.000000
mass = 10
hp_gun_type = hp_gun_special_10

the last line here (there are a lot more lines below this line!)
change it to:
hp_gun_type = hp_gun_special_1

Try again

Posted on: 2011/7/15 21:43
Top
Re: Problems with mod manager in Windows 7 64
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2009/4/8 11:06
From USA
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 266
Offline
Run as admin to do changes to mod manager.

Posted on: 2011/7/15 21:44
Open in new window
Top
Re: Problems with mod manager in Windows 7 64
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/2/20 20:34
From the Netherlands
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 242
Offline
Win 7 is a bit messy for modmanager. (Or more)
But if you activate the mod, copy all the files from the activated mod to your Freelancer directory it should work fine.

It looks like it overwrite all files but it doesn't. Regarless if you disable the UAC or dismark the "read only" in modmanager.

And the safegames you can find in:
C:\Users\Yourname\Documents\My Games\Freelancer

Posted on: 2011/7/16 9:06
Open in new window
~~My spells are dangerous~~

WTS for the Game. WTS for the World
Top
Re: Problems with mod manager in Windows 7 64
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/4 21:00
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 554
Offline
Are people reading what the guy said?

Mods activate fine

Deactivation may be because some mods change the same files - if they show up as orange or red when one mod is activated, it means "possible conflict" - in other words the mods edit the same files - and when you deactivate, all will be deactivated together.

The solution for your beam weapon mod is given. The issue with save games being moved is covered I think - so let us know if it is all "gravy"


Posted on: 2011/7/16 12:53
Top
Re: Problems with mod manager in Windows 7 64
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/3/14 18:10
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 1521
Offline
also to mention is, that still, even in modern mods there are methods used (specifically copyfile, maybe renamefile, too), that are buggy with the latest stable FLMM, so always have one clean copy of the game files somewhere, to replace if deactivations fail. likely adoxa's coming FLMM will fix these bugs without adding others.

Posted on: 2011/7/16 13:21
Open in new window
Top
Re: Problems with mod manager in Windows 7 64
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/2/20 20:34
From the Netherlands
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 242
Offline
Quote:

Chips wrote:
Are people reading what the guy said?


Yes.

Quote:


Mods activate fine


Quote:
Now everything seems to install just fine and run just fine as far as the game goes. The Mod Manager is a different story. It seems to install ok.


There stands "It seems to install ok"

But it doesn't. Otherwise you can't get a deinstall error nor other problems.

I have had that several times in the past. It looks like the mod was correct activated, but it wasn't. Altough FLMM told it was installed fine.
The game did start up, but some things where wrong and you collaps to desktop or got other problems.
Couldn't deactivate the mod also, because nothing than errors. Copyd all the files from the activated mod and no problems at all anymore.
Window's 7 is a bit hars with overwriting files when you want to.

I don't say this is the problem with the TS, but it could be a tip for him to try




Posted on: 2011/7/16 18:00
Open in new window
~~My spells are dangerous~~

WTS for the Game. WTS for the World
Top
Re: Problems with mod manager in Windows 7 64
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/6/23 22:25
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 4
Offline
Wow.

I'm impressed. I was hoping for this kind of help but I didn't honestly expect it. I should have some free time this afternoon to try it all again. I plan on having this open at the same time.

As for a few posts and replying to them:

The mods in mod manager don't change color to orange. They don't show that they are going to have any issues. so its just odd. Also the speed mod will change the afterburner speed but it doesn't change the cruise speed like it suppose to. Odd. As for restoring backups; it actually is restoring save games. Like I said when activating the mod it gets rid of all saved games and then when I restore backups it puts the saved games back in place. Its definitely strange.

So the beam weapon problem is solved. Thanks!

What do I do about the speed mod?

Posted on: 2011/7/16 18:24
Top
Re: Problems with mod manager in Windows 7 64
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/4 21:00
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 554
Offline
Quote:

13ronin wrote:
Wow.

I'm impressed. I was hoping for this kind of help but I didn't honestly expect it. I should have some free time this afternoon to try it all again. I plan on having this open at the same time.

As for a few posts and replying to them:

The mods in mod manager don't change color to orange. They don't show that they are going to have any issues. so its just odd. Also the speed mod will change the afterburner speed but it doesn't change the cruise speed like it suppose to. Odd. As for restoring backups; it actually is restoring save games. Like I said when activating the mod it gets rid of all saved games and then when I restore backups it puts the saved games back in place. Its definitely strange.

So the beam weapon problem is solved. Thanks!

What do I do about the speed mod?


Misunderstanding and I explain poorly

When you activate a mod, the mod manager (if savesafe or move saves games is enabled) will automatically move save game files for you. If you went to the save games directory, you may find sub-directories named after said mods, and inside them, various save games as appropriate. Those are saves created whilst that mod was activated. If you activate the mod, it will put that save game file into the root directory for save games (I may not be 100% accurate here, this is from memory - but basically what FLMM does regarding save games).

FLMM moves various save games, and then puts them back afterwards. It is because save games from one mod may not work with another (cause a crash). It was one of the most common issues people had with mods - crash on startup. It was nearly always due to the save games issue So FLMM has it "built in" to negate that problem However, this may mean that if you activate a mod, your "vanilla" (that means un-modded Freelancer) save games get moved away, resulting in no save files. However, I haven't checked to be sure - maybe Autosave remains, dunno

After that, try Wicked_Witch's ideas. I read and understood what you wrote in a different way to what he (and others) read and understood - hence my confusion over what they were saying

If FLMM gives any errors (including the space at the bottom of FLMM it has a sort of output text) say what they are

Posted on: 2011/7/16 20:11
Top
Re: Problems with mod manager in Windows 7 64
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/6/23 22:25
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 4
Offline
Spoke too soon. The beam weapon problem isn't solved. I downloaded an XML editor and changed the mod as stated but it still comes up as class 10. I deactivated the mod successfully (for a change) before changing the file then reactivated it after I changed the file.

Posted on: 2011/7/16 20:15
Top
Re: Problems with mod manager in Windows 7 64
Just popping in
Joined:
2010/6/23 22:25
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 4
Offline
Patched!

For some reason XMLpad wasn't saving the file the same way; and notepad wouldn't let me save any changes to the beam weapon mod. It said access denied. Later after messing around with it I realized that for whatever reason it wasn't recognizing me as administrator. So I moved the script onto the desktop; edited it there with notepad, and moved it back into the mod folder.

I'm currently running around with 5 advanced beam weapons on a defender fighter. lol. It keeps me laughing. I just look at something and its gone.

As for the other crap; for some reason the mod manager seems to (mostly) be behaving itself. The speed mod is still off; I doubled the cruise speed to 600 but the gauge is still readin 300 even though I can tell by how quickly I'm closing range I'm going 600. Whatever. Everything works now!

Posted on: 2011/7/20 17:49
Top
Re: Problems with mod manager in Windows 7 64
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/4 21:00
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 554
Offline
Quote:

13ronin wrote:
Patched!

For some reason XMLpad wasn't saving the file the same way; and notepad wouldn't let me save any changes to the beam weapon mod. It said access denied. Later after messing around with it I realized that for whatever reason it wasn't recognizing me as administrator. So I moved the script onto the desktop; edited it there with notepad, and moved it back into the mod folder.

I'm currently running around with 5 advanced beam weapons on a defender fighter. lol. It keeps me laughing. I just look at something and its gone.

As for the other crap; for some reason the mod manager seems to (mostly) be behaving itself. The speed mod is still off; I doubled the cruise speed to 600 but the gauge is still readin 300 even though I can tell by how quickly I'm closing range I'm going 600. Whatever. Everything works now!


I can't remember for sure, but I don't think value you see in the window for "cruise speed" is actually anything to do with cruise speed. In other words, it is just 300 being displayed irrespective of whatever the cruise speed is really.

But I'm going from very very very old memory.

Posted on: 2011/7/20 18:23
Top
Re: Problems with mod manager in Windows 7 64
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/9/28 21:13
From Wales
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 896
Offline
Quote:

Chips wrote:
I can't remember for sure, but I don't think value you see in the window for "cruise speed" is actually anything to do with cruise speed. In other words, it is just 300 being displayed irrespective of whatever the cruise speed is really.

But I'm going from very very very old memory.


There's a hack for that!
freelancer.exe 0D5936 0F85->90E9 = remove cruise speed display limit of 300

Posted on: 2011/7/20 18:55
Top
Re: Problems with mod manager in Windows 7 64
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/4 21:00
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 554
Offline
Quote:

Timmy51m wrote:

There's a hack for that!



Posted on: 2011/7/20 19:45
Top
Re: Problems with mod manager in Windows 7 64
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3158
Offline
Adoxa is our very own Steve Jobs

Posted on: 2011/7/20 20:18
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
(1) 2 »