Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
40 user(s) are online (24 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 40

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +30€

Current balance: -190€
(last updated 04/2017)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 50 users playing Freelancer on 40 servers.
September. 22, 2017

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

« 1 2 (3) 4 5 6 ... 66 »


Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/15 21:52
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1592
Offline
02/06/09:
-- Indexed M0tah's max chat lines and characters


Dont forget his other offsets

-0.265f in freelancer.exe, 0x1ceee4 = y position of chat box
0.065f in freelancer.exe, 0x1ceee0 = height of chat box
0.46f in freelancer.exe, 0x1ceedc = width of chat box
0x50 in freelancer.exe, 0x6a440 = maximum number of characters in multiplayer chat window

Posted on: 2009/3/8 20:35
Open in new window
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/3/11 16:11
From Belarus, Minsk
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 384
Offline
Quote:

Interesting finds Vital. I'll check 'em out.


Thanks, will keep on trying, despite lack of time...

Finally I came to a concept of 10k radar with no influence on gameplay(um... except that there is 10k radar).

Posted on: 2009/3/8 21:00
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/5/9 17:27
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 233
Offline
remoteserver.dll - offset 3f44000 -> name of freelancer.exe

If you are going to rename your Freelancer.exe you will need to change the name here otherwise it will crash if you try to join a server.

Posted on: 2009/3/9 0:38
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/6/24 16:40
From http://www.freeworlds-tow.net/dev
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Admin
$$$ Supporters $$$
Posts: 1123
Offline
Quote:

02/06/09:
-- Indexed M0tah's max chat lines and characters


Dont forget his other offsets

-0.265f in freelancer.exe, 0x1ceee4 = y position of chat box
0.065f in freelancer.exe, 0x1ceee0 = height of chat box
0.46f in freelancer.exe, 0x1ceedc = width of chat box
0x50 in freelancer.exe, 0x6a440 = maximum number of characters in multiplayer chat window


What are the values you used for the released .exe, Bas? I was hoping to increase the chat for FW:ToW.

Posted on: 2009/3/16 17:58
Open in new window
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/15 21:52
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1592
Offline
Till yet I only altered the maximum number of characters in chat window:
Quote:
Ok, best value for maximum number of characters in multiplayer chat window is 7F/127. I am not sure, but I have the feeling that even higher values have an effect, meaning that you can write more letters then. But then there is the "loop"-bug again - meaning you dont come to an end of letters when you are writing a message (just see for yourself ^^)

I also made 2 screenshots to show how muhc it is only enlarged, not too much IMHO (127 instead of 80 letters):

http://www.abload.de/img/screen135k6kc.jpg
http://www.abload.de/img/screen1361b7q.jpg

(I am I with EXE hack, Saarländer without EXE hack - Just look for Halloooooo[...])

And for the size/number of lines of the chatlog:
Quote:
0x20 in freelancer.exe, 0x691d1 = maximum number of chat lines in chat history window (signed byte, so max of 127)

(So just set the value to 7F)

Posted on: 2009/3/16 19:30
Open in new window
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Starport Admin
Joined:
2008/6/24 16:40
From http://www.freeworlds-tow.net/dev
Group:
Registered Users
Starport Admin
$$$ Supporters $$$
Posts: 1123
Offline
Thanks, Bas.

Posted on: 2009/3/17 0:36
Open in new window
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/2/25 6:48
Group:
Registered Users
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 252
Offline
Just found some more, I'm guessing someone will find these useful.
Code:
0.8f in freelancer.exe, 0x1d8010 = damage indicator sensitivity
0.7f in freelancer.exe, 0x1d800c = damage indicator fade time

Posted on: 2009/3/17 8:41
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/2/17 23:14
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 518
Offline
Quote:
0x05 in freelancer.exe, 0x16835b = maximum number of characters per account, PART 1, BUGGY (literally just "05" in hex) ~M0tah
0x16835b = 1.1
0x05 in server.dll, 0x????? = maximum number of characters per account, PART 2, BUGGY ~M0tah
0x7417c = 1.1


Has anyone else played with this? I heard Procyon had 8 accounts/char.

Posted on: 2009/3/26 2:17
Open in new window
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/5/28 18:04
From Maine, USA
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 457
Offline
(3/27/2009 7:49:21 AM) M0tah: And I believe we had a deal
Quote:
(7:14:56 PM) foxUnit01: Alright
(7:15:01 PM) foxUnit01: Let's make a deal
(7:15:18 PM) foxUnit01: I'll update the list with all those offsets
(7:17:46 PM) foxUnit01: And you write me a Hook feature that disallows certain items from being traded (either via /transfer or via player-trading) - this will both fix issues with trading both Alaska system passes and boss system passes

^_^
(8:14:16 AM) foxUnit01: *facepalm*
(8:14:25 AM) M0tah:

He had me there, so I've updated the list with every offset I found in this topic, as well as his work with chat boxes and system IDSs. I also made a new --- Chat --- section in the list to encompass all the chat edits.

Posted on: 2009/3/27 13:48
88 Flak for Freelancer
1.27 Betas | Wiki | Forums
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/5/28 18:04
From Maine, USA
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 457
Offline
Added M0tah's equipment class offsets. *returns to hibernation*

Posted on: 2009/3/27 23:48
88 Flak for Freelancer
1.27 Betas | Wiki | Forums
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/2/25 6:48
Group:
Registered Users
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 252
Offline
I've figured out how to run multiple instances of Freelancer under one user.
You will need the following offset:
Code:
"FreelancerClient" in freelancer.exe, 0x1e6dcc = string used for lpName when FL calls CreateMutex (change this for multiple instances)
The following are optional to get it to work, but are needed for running multiple instances off of one installation:
Code:

"RemoteServer.dll" in freelancer.exe, 0x1e6454 = name of RemoteServer DLL filename used by FL
freelancer.exe in remoteserver.dll, 0x3f440 = name of freelancer.exe for RemoteServer; if you're going to rename your freelancer.exe, you'll need to change it here as well, or it will crash when you try to join a server ~Crazy


The first step is changing the "FreelancerClient" string to something else. You have a few options here because there's 3 extra null characters you can use after the original string (strings in binary files are typically null terminated - the end is signified by a null (0x00) character). Since there are 4 null characters after the original string you can safely make use of up to 3 of them to make the string longer. I personally added a "01" onto the original string.

If the freelancer.exe that you're editing is in its own installation, then you're done - you should now be able to launch it along with whatever other installation you have. Otherwise, you should save the modified freelancer.exe as something else. The filename can be up to 1 character longer than the original "freelancer.exe". Now make a copy of the remoteserver.dll file, naming it up to 3 characters longer than the original filename. Next you need to change the filename of RemoteServer in freelancer.exe. As with the "FreelancerClient" string, there are 3 extra null characters after the string. Finally, change the "FreeLancer.exe" string in your copy of remoteserver.dll to whatever you saved your modified freelancer.exe as.

You should now have two Freelancer executables that you can launch to have two instances of Freelancer open at once.

Notes: I have only tested this in MP, where it worked fine. I do not know if it is also compatible with SP, but it should be. You should only have to change the "FreelancerClient" string in order to get it to work in SP - the remoteserver.dll stuff is specifically to get it to work in MP.
I recommend launching the two instances with the -windowed (-w for short) command line switch, which will run each of them in their own window. When FL is run in windowed mode the window will only be updated when it has focus (FL will continue running whether it has focus or not, however).

EDIT: I almost forgot. In order to connect the multiple instances to FLServer you will need to connect one, change your MP ID, and then connect another. I typically do this via registry files, but there is also a program called Freelancer Account Manager that will do this for you (I have not personally tried it, however).

Posted on: 2009/3/30 9:58
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/5/28 18:04
From Maine, USA
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 457
Offline
Updated the list a little:
-- Slight reorganization of the sections, less crap in the "Misc" section now
-- Indexed M0tah's multi-instance hack
-- Indexed M0tah's group invite bypass for missions (still can't join group though)

Posted on: 2009/4/1 16:13
88 Flak for Freelancer
1.27 Betas | Wiki | Forums
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Home away from home
Joined:
2008/5/15 21:52
From Germany
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 1592
Offline
M0tah, I tested your offsets for multiple instances, how ever, I was able to open a 2nd instance, but was unable to connect to the game server? I added the -sIP to the short cut, but simple no thing is going on if I click at the "connect" button. No thing happens then...
Did I did some mistake?
Hint: The first instance was connected to this game server, but I changed my FL MP ID...plus there was NO message. Simple no thing is going on.

Posted on: 2009/4/11 22:23
Open in new window
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Not too shy to talk
Joined:
2008/7/12 10:19
Group:
Registered Users
Posts: 86
Offline
You didnt read or followed the instruction in all points. If you follow exactly it works ^^

Posted on: 2009/4/12 0:34
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/2/25 6:48
Group:
Registered Users
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 252
Offline
Yeah, it sounds like something's wrong with remoteserver.dll, like you didn't change the filename string in Freelancer.exe to the new one you made or something.

Posted on: 2009/4/12 0:37
Top
« 1 2 (3) 4 5 6 ... 66 »