Freelancer Community Network
Reminder: Internet Explorer 6 or below are NOT supported.
HomeHome
ForumForum
WikiWiki
DownloadsDownloads
ForgeForge
Multiplayer Connection Tutorial
Collapse/Expand Random Image
Collapse/Expand Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me



Lost Password?

Register now!
Collapse/Expand Chat
Collapse/Expand Who's Online
119 user(s) are online (45 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 119

more...
Collapse/Expand Donations
Monthly costs: -30€
Income (ads): +5€
Donations (last month): +10€

Current balance: -300€
(last updated 11/2017)

Please make a donation if you want to help keeping The-Starport online:

Bitcoin address:
Thanks!
Collapse/Expand Links
Collapse/Expand Advertisement
There are currently 49 users playing Freelancer on 32 servers.
November. 23, 2017

Browsing this Thread:   4 Anonymous Users



 Bottom   Previous Topic   Next Topic  Register To Post

« 1 ... 20 21 22 (23) 24 25 26 ... 67 »


Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 824
Offline
Quote:

adoxa wrote:

Sigh, just when I thought everyone was using 1.1... 0x463c9 & f.


:worship: Thx!!!

Quote:

friendly fire wrote:

I urge anyone still working with it to move to 1.1,

I must confess I have no ideas how to that...

And I have some recollection it was disadvised against on the old (TRL) forum. Can't remember what the reason was, but it was a good oen. Apparently, the issue has been overcome, but I'd like to know what & how.

Besides, although I have a legally purchased copy, I have a no-cd version that 'fell off a truck', and that's a 1.0 . Is there a no-cd patch for 1.1?

Posted on: 2010/2/24 20:27
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/5/13 8:19
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 199
Offline
freelancer.exe wasnt change in 1.1, just patch your freelancer to 1.1 and everything is like before

Posted on: 2010/2/24 20:34
Open in new window
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 824
Offline
Quote:

adoxa wrote:
Sigh, just when I thought everyone was using 1.1... 0x463c9 & f.


IT WORKS!



Posted on: 2010/2/24 20:49
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 824
Offline
Quote:

Syd wrote:
freelancer.exe wasnt change in 1.1, just patch your freelancer to 1.1 and everything is like before

Cool. Where and/or how?

(I'm stubborn and carry on with 1.0 for a while, but it can't hurt to at least now where and how to patch. But - what was the good reason the old school modders advised against patching? Or did I just imagine that?)

Posted on: 2010/2/24 20:52
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/5/9 17:27
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 233
Offline

Posted on: 2010/2/24 21:48
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 824
Offline
Quote:

Crazy wrote:
Quote:

Moonhead wrote:
Cool. Where and/or how?


http://download.microsoft.com/downloa ... -2cdced8d1d0d/flpatch.exe

Thx!

I suppose I need to run this with every fresh-install (and also can get rid of it, by fresh-installing the game without patching?

I won't patch now, coz I'm too lazy to find out what might have changed. I wanna simply add more Order NPCs to my little mod now

Posted on: 2010/2/24 22:18
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3457
Offline
If you ever go multiplayer with your mod (IE get a server up), you'll be cursing this decision over and over, trust me.

Posted on: 2010/2/25 2:01
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 824
Offline
Quote:

FriendlyFire wrote:
If you ever go multiplayer with your mod (IE get a server up), you'll be cursing this decision over and over, trust me.


Well ok maybe I should. But a few question, if I may:

1. What files are actually affected by the patch (you don't have to go into details, but I wanna know what I might loose / have to again? I mean DLL wise mainly, but also other files I might not think off... Also, I need to know what existing files in my mods I need to update

2. I build all my mods over Xerx's OpenSP and that includes:
- a common.dll file in \Exe,
- a contents.dll file in \DLLS\BIN
and both happen to be 1.0 files (in fact it's version 1.0.1223.11). Is there a 1.1 version of Xerx's OpenSP? (Or another OpenSP that works as well? OpenSP meaning: no storyline, sort of a solo emulation of MP)

3. Where should I expect conflicts if I accidently (e.g. becaus there is still some 1.0 stuf in one of my older mods) use a combination of files from both 1.1 and 1.0?

Posted on: 2010/2/25 2:19
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 824
Offline
Quote:
The Freelancer Update v1.1 is primarily a server update addressing server stability and cheating. There are some client side fixes, the most important being a multiplayer ID generation issue. There is really no need to install the update unless you are running a server or are unable to play multiplayer because you can't get an ID. The update itself contains no localized text, therefore it is applicable for use for the English, French, and German versions of the game. An English, French, or German readme file will be installed depending on the language version of the target operating system.


Doesn't seemt too bad, but what about the content.dll?

Posted on: 2010/2/25 2:24
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Starport Admin
Joined:
2009/2/21 21:42
Group:
Webmasters
Registered Users
Posts: 3457
Offline
If you have WinRAR or 7-Zip, just download the EXE patch, right click on it and extract it as you would a standard archive. You'll be able to see for yourself exactly what files are changed by the update.

As for OpenSP, I do not know about this, but I think there were newer versions than Xerx's one. All I know is that most mods want, at one point or another, to go MP and that you want to be ready for this.

Posted on: 2010/2/25 4:13
"Cynicism is not realistic and tough. It's unrealistic and kind of cowardly because it means you don't have to try."
-Peggy Noonan
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/5/28 21:00
From Muncie, Indiana, United States
Group:
Registered Users
Senior Members
Posts: 260
Offline
I'm convinced. I've updated Freelancer Two to 1.1. Wasn't that difficult, really.

MK

Posted on: 2010/2/25 4:27
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Just can't stay away
Joined:
2008/2/17 19:44
From Virginia
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Senior Members
Posts: 364
Offline
Quote:

Moonhead wrote:
1. What files are actually affected by the patch


These are the files updated in flpatch.exe (the 1.1. patch made by Microsoft):

Freelancer\DLLS\BIN\Content.dll

Freelancer\EXE\CheatMessage.txt
Freelancer\EXE\ReadmePatch.htm
Freelancer\EXE\FLServer.exe
Freelancer\EXE\Common.dll
Freelancer\EXE\DALib.dll
Freelancer\EXE\RemoteClient.dll
Freelancer\EXE\Server.dll


Posted on: 2010/2/25 4:49
http://UnderVerse.us
http://FreelancerCommunity.net
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Home away from home
Joined:
2009/8/16 2:58
From Qld, Aus.
Group:
Registered Users
FLServer Admins
Trusted Speciality Developers
Senior Members
Posts: 1805
Offline
Regarding OpenSP, there's also my SP from MP tool. This takes the new character data used by MP and turns it into restart.fl, used by New Game.

You should also be aware that 1.0 save games are not really compatible with 1.1. The internal mission number changed, so after Mission 2 (iirc) you will not be able to advance level. It can be fixed by getting FlCodec, decoding your save games, searching for and adding one to MissionNum, if it's greater than 5 (1.0 is consecutive, but 1.1 jumps from 5 to 7). There's no need to re-encode, so just save and that's it. You don't even need to exit Freelancer.

Posted on: 2010/2/25 5:35
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 824
Offline
Quote:

adoxa wrote:
Regarding OpenSP, there's also my SP from MP tool. This takes the new character data used by MP and turns it into restart.fl, used by New Game.

:worship: Adoxa, you should be the new UN ambassador and the world would truly become a better place.


Quote:

adoxa wrote:
You should also be aware that 1.0 save games are not really compatible with 1.1. The internal mission number changed, so after Mission 2 (iirc) you will not be able to advance level. It can be fixed by getting FlCodec, decoding your save games, searching for and adding one to MissionNum, if it's greater than 5 (1.0 is consecutive, but 1.1 jumps from 5 to 7). There's no need to re-encode, so just save and that's it. You don't even need to exit Freelancer.

Thx for the info! I don't have any worhtwhile savegames (yet).

So, it seems safe to path up to 1.1. now...
- all the hacks in my common.dll can be redone with FLHack (and the starsystem's asteroid limit manually woth the info provided earlier in this thread - I'll write it down to not forget)
- OpenSP is provided
- The Planets Visibility Hack is in Freelancer.exe so it is left untouched (Btw I still have the text from Friendly Fire's original post, saved from TLR, and I will post it, to express gratitude and pay honour. Like Adoxa's hacks, it contributed to improve to kick-ass-ness of my time on earth. )

Wooee!


Posted on: 2010/2/25 13:03
Top
Re: Dev's Limit Breaking 101 Techniques
Home away from home
Joined:
2010/2/22 0:47
Group:
Registered Users
$$$ Supporters $$$
Senior Members
Posts: 824
Offline
Here it is, a piece of text that moved me more than any poetry could have done. Copied-and-saved from The Lancer Reactors Modding Forum, preserved from ancient times, copied from harddisk to harddisk: the Holy Planets Visibility Limit Hack!

Quote:
FriendlyFire
Flight Commander
Original posting
posted 10/4/2005 18:31 PST
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I was fiddling with a problem I had with scales and I was looking for the mythic 250k draw limit. I found it!

Open up your Freelancer.exe with your favorite Hex Editor. I use Hex Workshop.
Search for a 32 bits Float value of "250000" ( Without "" ).
The first and only result is the good one. Change it to, say, 1000000 ( 1000k ) and save, then try to boot the game ( Singleplayer is better for this as it does not have the ship explosion bug when you are too far away from the center of the map ).

It will work!

Hope this helps making even greater mods.
FriendlyFire

Edited by - FriendlyFire on 10/4/2005 6:32:23 PM


Bring me my bow of burning gold!
Bring me my arrows of desire!
Bring me my spear! O clouds, unfold!
Bring me my chariot of fire!

:worship:

Oh that reminds me: nebula's also get weird when your too far from ' em... But I can't remember of the above-mentioned hack also covered that. or if that one even has been solved.

Posted on: 2010/2/25 13:10
Top
« 1 ... 20 21 22 (23) 24 25 26 ... 67 »